please get in contact via

The Campuses

You enjoy fresh air and an intact environment? You don’t like wasting your hours commuting? You feel at home when you meet friends on the street? Then feel welcome to study here in the north-west of Germany.

BildThe Carl von Ossietzky University, Oldenburg, is one of the youngest universities in Germany. The campus lies roughly 10 minutes by bicycle from the city centre and offers the 15,000 students modern lecture theatres and laboratories, two large libraries, a refectory and good sports facilities. Founded in 1973, it grew out of the city’s 200- year-old teacher training college. Today, the university includes the departments of Social Sciences, Arts and Humanities, Education, Economics, Languages, Business Studies, Mathematics, Natural Sciences, Medicine and Computer Science.

The Institute of Physics ( comprises roughly 100 scientists and a total of 600 students plus 50 PhD students. In 17 sections and institutes, topics in theoretical, experimental and applied physics are researched, from black holes to bicycles. Oldenburg is a pleasant city of 160,000 inhabitants, with many historic sites, parks, pubs and an exciting cultural life.

BildThe University of Applied Sciences, Hochschule Emden/Leer was also founded in 1973. The location is situated in the port towns of Emden and Leer on the north-west coast, roughly 70 km from Oldenburg. Ostfriesland is a renowned holiday area, having a unique atmosphere with lush fields, windmills and red-bricked houses, as well as a long tradition in shipbuilding and seafaring.

In addition to the Department of Technical Sciences with the fields of Natural Sciences, Electrical and Mechanical Engineering (, the Departments of Business Studies, Social Sciences and the Institute of Maritime are available for the 4700 registered students. In all areas, practical aspects are strongly emphasised through integration in industrial projects and in-house research. This institution is proud to be home to the largest laser research centre in the greater area.

(Changed: 2020-03-19)