Research Groups at the ICBM

Research Groups at the ICBM

  Director: Prof. Dr. Heinz Wilkes
Executive Manager: Birgit Stein and Jana Stone
Section Geochemistry /
Section Biology /
Section Physics /

Organic Geochemistry

Prof. Dr. Heinz Wilkes

General & Molecular

Prof. Dr. Ralf Rabus

Theoretical Physics /
Complex Systems

Prof. Dr. Ulrike Feudel


Prof. Dr. Hans Brumsack

Benthic Microbiology

Prof. Dr. Martin Könneke

Mathematical Modelling

Prof. Dr. Bernd Blasius

Environmental Biochemistry

Prof. Dr. Peter Schupp

Biology of Geological Processes

Prof. Dr. Meinhard Simon

Physical Oceanography

Prof. Dr. Jörg-Olaf Wolff

ICBM-MPI Bridging Group for
Marine Geochemistry

Prof. Dr. Thorsten Dittmar


Prof. Dr. Helmut Hillebrand

Marine Sensor Systems

Prof. Dr. Oliver Zielinski

Marine Isotope Geochemistry

Prof. Dr. Katharina Pahnke


PD Dr. Holger Freund

Joint Professorship Uni OL/HZG
Coastal Research

Prof. Dr. Emil Stanev

Processes and Sensing
of Marine Interfaces

Prof. Dr. Oliver Wurl

Joint Professorship Uni OL/AWI
Biodiversity & Biolog. Processes
in Polar Seas

Prof. Dr. Bettina Meyer

associated Research Group
Hydrogeology and
Landscape Hydrology

Prof. Dr. Gudrun Massmann

Joint Professorship Uni OL/
Fish Ecology and Evolution

Prof. Dr. Oscar Puebla


Joint Professorship Uni OL/
Benthos Ecology

Prof. Dr. Ingrid Kröncke

associated Research Group
Marine Physics

PD Dr. Rainer Reuter


associated Research Group
Animal Biodiversity
and Evolutionary Biology

Prof. Dr. Gabriele Gerlach

(Changed: 2021-07-09)