Colombian receives DAAD award

Colombian receives DAAD award

Oldenburg. She graduated as valedictorian and is socially involved in many different ways: The engineer and graduate of the “Postgraduate Programme Renewable Energy” (PPRE) Mónica Andrea Gutiérrez Almonacid received this year’s award of the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD).

Prof. Dr. Esther Ruigendijk, Vice President for Early Career Researchers and International Affairs, and Katja Kaboth-Larsen from the International Student Office presented the award on December 12, 2017 as part of a celebration party at the University of Oldenburg. The laudation was held by PPRE lecturer Dr. Hans-Gerhard Holtorf.

The DAAD award honors international students and includes prize money of 1.000 euros. “Outstanding research and teaching strives for new impulses and ideas from the outside, for a lively exchange in global networks. An excellent example is the Postgraduate Programme Renewable Energy (PPRE) – together with great commitment of our international students, whereof we honor a great example today with the DAAD award”, said Ruigendijk during the award ceremony.

Mónica’s many and varied social commitment is remarkable. On account of her initiative, the PPRE programme was nominated and honored for the Ars Legendi Prize - one of the most prestigious prizes for education in Germany, awarded by the Hochschulrektorenkonferenz (HRK) and the Stifterverband. Moreover, the 28-year-old prizewinner is developing the project “Student‘s Lab“ for her native country Colombia with the help of the German Corporation for International Cooperation. In this project, enthusiasts and students – despite their educational background - will be able to participate in lab work and internships in the field of renewable energy. The opening of the “Student’s Lab” is scheduled for 2019.


On the picture (left to right): Jenka Schmidt, director of the International Student Office (ISO); Prof. Dr. Esther Ruigendijk, Vice President for Early Career Researchers and International Affairs; award winner Mónica Andrea Gutiérrez Almonacid; Katja Kaboth-Larsen (ISO) and laudator Dr. Hans-Gerhard Holtorf. Photo Credit: Oldenburg University.

Webmasteres/b ( (Changed: 2020-01-23)