Kontakt

Sabina Pleye

+49 (0)441 798-4625

+49 (0)441 798-2115 

A10 2-210

ANSCHRIFT

Carl von Ossietzky Universität Oldenburg
Fakultät III - Sprach- und Kulturwissenschaften
Ammerländer Heerstraße 114-118
26129 Oldenburg 

Campus Lageplan A10

Veranstaltungen der Fakultät III:
Musik, Theater, Vorträge, Workshops ...

AKTUELLER HINWEIS

Bitte beachten: Aufgrund behördlicher Anordnung müssen aktuell viele Veranstaltungen abgesagt werden. Es könnte daher sein, dass eine Veranstaltung ausfällt, auch wenn sie hier noch angezeigt wird!

Wo Gender brennt - Aktueller Brennpunkt*:

Wo Gender brennt - Aktueller Brennpunkt*:

QUEER[ING] BELONGINGS IN THE INDIAN NATION-STATE. IN/VISIBILITIES IN DIGITAL AND PHYSICAL SPACES.

Online Veranstaltungsreihe  LISTENING, TALKING & VIEWING ROOMS on Post/Decolonial Theories and Concerns (in englischer Sprache)

Gender politics in India have been intertwined with neoliberal politics especially since the 1990s. At the core of the national modernisation programme is the push for "Digital India”. This provokes questions about inclusions and exclusions of queer people. Which obstacles and opportunities can be identified for queer people beyond their appellation as consumers and integration as human capital? What counter strategies have been developed? How do queer individuals in the Indian nation-state navigate in/visibility in online digital spaces and/or offline physical spaces? What are some modes of recognizing a multiplicity of gender and sexual identities that goes beyond Western ideas? What other modes of queer liberation are available to indigenous queer bodies from the ‘global south’ that depart from and problematise the western template of queerness? The emergence of Homo-Hindu-nationalism that has its roots in brahminical structures of caste oppression and colonial prohibitions on queer expression must also be questioned within this frame of modernisation.

We invite you to listen to, to talk about and to view a film in our event-rooms where we want to address these questions through an intersectional lens that attends to the confluence of gender, sexuality, class, caste and religion. 

You can register now (siehe unten).

PROGRAMM

29.10.2021

13:00 GMT/14:00 CEST (= europ. Sommerzeit) / 17:30 IST: Opening Einführung durch die Organisator*innen: Yashka Chavan (Mumbai/Münster), Baldeep Grewal (Mum-bai/Potsdam), Katharina Hoffmann and Sylvia Pritsch (Oldenburg)

13:30 GMT/14:30 CEST/ 18:00 IST : “No vernacs, speak proper English – Class, Caste and Privilege in Digital Queer India”

Lecture by Rohit Dasgupta (School of Culture & Creative Arts, University of Glasgow)

anschließend Diskussion

14:20 GMT/15.20 CEST/18:50 IST: “What does it take to survive? Towards a practice of abolition of transphobia”

Lecture by Vikramaditya Sahai (New Delhi)

anschließend Diskussion

15.11.2021

13:00 – 15:00 GMT/14:00 –16:00 CET/ 17:30 –19:30 IST: Workshop

Workshop mit Baldeep Grewal (RTG Minor Cosmopolitanism, University of Potsdam)

The workshop focuses on the film Papilio Buddha (Jayan K. Cherian 2013) that describes the mul-tilayered entanglements of sexuality, caste, and the fight for land rights in the Western Ghats of India. In this session, we will dis-cuss how the issues of Dalit rights, ecological activism and queer liberation come together in the film. Participants must watch the film and fill out a short questionnaire prior to the workshop.

Es wird eine Filmvorführung im cine K geben; Informationen sowie ein Online-Zugang wird bei Anmeldung zugeschickt.

Anmeldung für beide Tage unter > - bitte mit Angabe der gewünschten Tage.

 

* Unter der Schirmherr*innenschaft von Prof. Dr. Annett Thiele, Vizepräsidentin für Wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchs und Gleichstellung.

Diese Veranstaltungen schließen an die Indian-German Autumn School (Re-)Reading – (Re-)Writing: Postcolonial Theories in Critical Transnational Gender Perspectives (2019) an.

Die Veranstaltungen sind ebenfalls Teil des BA Gender Studies Moduls “Inter- und transdisziplinäre Perspektiven der Geschlechterforschung" (Uni Ol.; contact: >).

29.10.2021 Ganztags

Online

(Stand: 09.06.2021)