Microwave nanoprobing station with MEMS probes for characterisation of InAs nanowires and SMM characterisation of nanodot...


„Microwave nanoprobing station with MEMS probes for characterisation of

InAs nanowires and SMM characterisation of nanodot molecular junctions“

Der Vortrag findet in A1 3-330 statt.


With the miniaturization of electronic circuits, new measurement and metrological issues are emerging com-

bining contacting nanoscale devices and calibration of microwave frequency instrumentation. This concerns

in particular nanoelectronic devices such as attoFarad capacitors, nanoscale contacts, 1D and 2D based de-

vices. In the frame of the “EXCELSIOR” Project and in cooperation with AMIR group in Oldenburg, new

hybrid measuring equipment combining guided radio frequency (RF) probing, nanorobotics and scanning

electron microscopy (SEM) is demonstrated for tackling the frontiers between spatial resolution and fre-

quency domain [1]. This should lead to unprecedented capabilities for nanoscale material and device analysis.

As an application, measurement of InAs nanowires will be shown [2].

Another way for nanoscale analysis at microwave frequencies is Scanning Microwave Microscopy (SMM)

where microwave analysis is coupled to atomic force microscopy [3-6]. Here, our work focuses on the cha-

racterization in the 2 -18 GHz range of nanostructures specifically designed for SMM. These structures are

based on Au nanodot arrays used to graft small quantities of molecules and analyse their electrical charac-

teristics. Nanodots without molecules were characterized at 7.8 GHz using reference MIS capacitances for

calibration. The parasitic capacitance between the probe and the sample is modelled and successfully deem-

bedded. Then, 11-Ferrocenyl-1-undecanethiol (FcC11SH) molecules grafted on nanodots are measured at 3.8

and 17 GHz. The rectifying behaviour of the FcC11SH is evidenced showing the potential use of these

molecules for high frequency diodes with cut-off frequency of about 500 GHz.

1. J. Marzouk, S. Arscott, A. El Fellahi, K. Haddadi, C. Boyaval, S. Lepilliet, T. Lasri, G. Dambrine, Sens.

Actuator A-Phys. 238 51-59 (2016)

2. K. Daffe, J. Marzouk, A. El Fellahi, T. Xu, C. Boyaval, S. Eliet, B. Grandidier, S. Arscott, G . Dambrine

and K. Haddadi, Proc. 47th EuMC, Nuremberg, Germany, Oct. 2017

3. A. Imtiaz, T. M. Wallis and P. Kabos, IEEE Microwave Magazine 15 (1), 52-64 (2014).

4. G. Gramse, E. Brincotti, A. Lucibello, S. B. Patil, M. Kasper, C. Ranki, R. Giridharagopal, P. Hinterdorfer,

R. Marcelli and F. Kienberger, Nanotechnology 26, 135701 (2015).

5. S. Berweger, G. A. MacDonald, M. Yang, K. J. Coakley, J. J. Berry, K. Zhu, F. W. DelRio, T. M. Wallis

and P. Kabos, Nano Letters 17 (3), 1796-1801 (2017).

6. Y. J. Oh, H.-P. Huber, M. Hochleitner, M. Duman, B. Bozna, M. Kastner, F. Kienberger and P. Hinterdor-

fer, Ultramicroscopy 111 (11), 1625-1629 (2011).

Brief biography:

Didier THERON is researcher director at CNRS and works at Institute of Electronics, Microelectronics and

Nanotechnology (IEMN). He defended his Habilitation thesis in 1998 at the University of Sciences and Tech-

nology of Lille. The same year, he received the CNRS Bronze medal for his work on the physics and tech-

nology of power HEMTs for millimetre wave applications. In 2006, he merged his competences with MEMS

physics and applications for the investigation of GaN MEMS resonators as well as Si MEMS resonators for

AFM probes. In 2009, in collaboration with Keysight Technologies, he developed expertise on Scanning

Microwave Microscopy coupled to RF interferometry for the investigation of aF-scale capacitance on Au

nanodots and Ferrocenealkanethiol based devices. He has about 83 peer-reviewed papers and 80 peer-revie-

wed communications in conferences (12 invited) and 2 patents. From September 2013 to December 2015, he

headed the Nano And MicroSystems (NAM6) group of IEMN. He took some administrative responsibilities

at CNRS from 2004 to 2008, at the national funding research organisation (ANR) from 2009 to 2012 and

from 2013 at the Ministry of research.

Eingeladen von: Prof. Dr. Sergej Fatikow


22. Februar 2018 13:00


Dr.habil. Didier Théron / IEMN, CNRS, Université Lille, France


A1 3-330

Webmaster (Stand: 10.09.2018)