Workshop Arithmetic Geometry and Computer Algebra

Workshop Arithmetic Geometry and Computer Algebra

Oldenburg, 29/06/17 - 01/07/17

The idea of the workshop is to bring together arithmetic geometers who use computer algebra in their research and experts in computer algebra who work on algorithms motivated by or used in arithmetic geometry. Besides talks about new and improved algorithms and their applications in arithmetic geometry, we will also have presentations by developers of some of the major computer algebra systems and libraries used in arithmetic geometry about recent functionality and future plans. There will be ample time for discussions and collaboration and for trying out and developing new functionality.


Florian Heß, Steffen Müller, Andreas Stein

Venue and transportation

All talks will take place at the Carl von Ossietzky Universität in Building W1, Lecture Hall W1 0-015. Building W1 is part of Campus Wechloy, bus stop Carl-von-Ossietzky-Straße. This is the terminal stop of the bus service 306. (Do not exit at the bus stop Universität which is at Campus Uhlhornsweg). The 306 leaves from the train station and from the bus stop Lappan, close to hotels Sprenz and Antares; the travel time is about 15-20 minutes. If you enter Campus Wechloy by the main entrance, then room W1 0-015 is just one floor down (on level 0) on the left-hand side of the entrance hall. 


The conference dinner will take place at the restaurant Zum Drögen Hasen on Friday at 7 PM.

List of participants (tentative)

  • Samuele Anni (Heidelberg)
  • Jennifer Balakrishnan (Boston University)
  • Raymond van Bommel (Leiden)
  • Nils Bruin (Simon Fraser)
  • Peter Bruin (Leiden)
  • Wouter Castryck (Leuven)
  • Brendan Creutz (Canterbury)
  • Christina Delfs (OFFIS, Oldenburg)
  • Lassina Dembele (Warwick)
  • Tim Dokchitser (Bristol)
  • Steve Donnelly (University of Sydney)
  • Bas Edixhoven (Leiden)
  • Stephan Elsenhans (Paderborn)
  • Claus Fieker (Kaiserslautern)
  • Anne Frühbis-Krüger (Hannover)
  • Stevan Gajovic (Oldenburg)
  • Peter Gräf (Heidelberg)
  • Bill Hart (Kaiserslautern)
  • Jasper Van Hirtum (Leuven / Luxembourg)
  • Tommy Hofmann (Kaiserslautern)
  • Mike Jacobson (Calgary)
  • Matthias Junge (Oldenburg)
  • Kamal Khuri Makdisi (AU Beirut)
  • Pınar Kılıçer (Oldenburg)
  • David Kohel (Marseille)
  • Angelos Koutsianas (Ulm)
  • Max Kronberg (Groningen)
  • Dietrich Kuhn (Oldenburg)
  • Elisa Lorenzo Garcia (Rennes)
  • Nicolas Mascot (Warwick)
  • Marc Masdeu (Barcelona)
  • Maike Massierer (University of New South Wales)
  • Marco Melles (Oldenburg)
  • Pascal Molin (Paris VII)
  • Christian Neurohr (Oldenburg)
  • Bjorn Poonen (MIT)
  • Eduardo Ruiz Duarte (Groningen)
  • Jeroen Sijsling (Ulm)
  • Anna Somoza (Leiden)
  • Sandra Stein (Oldenburg)
  • Michael Stoll (Bayreuth)
  • Marco Streng (Leiden)
  • Andrew Sutherland (MIT)
  • Yan Bo Ti (Auckland)
  • Jaap Top (Groningen)
  • Wilke Trei (Oldenburg)
  • Nicholas Triantafillou (MIT)
  • Jan Tuitman (Leuven)
  • Frederic Vercauteren (Leuven)
  • John Voight (Dartmouth College)
  • Gabor Wiese (Luxembourg)
  • Jens Zumbrägel (Passau)


Unless you were invited by us, please take care of your accommodation yourself. We recommend the following hotels:

(Stand: 16.03.2023)  |