Paper Dietz et al 2013

Comparing the effect of pause duration on threshold interaural time differences between exponential and squared-sine envelopes

Mathias Dietz, Torben Wendt, Stephan D. Ewert, Bernhard Laback, Volker Hohmann,  J. Acoust. Soc. Am.  133(1):1-4, January 2013

Recently two studies [Klein-Hennig et al., J. Acoust. Soc. Am. 129, 3856-3872 (2011); Laback et al., J. Acoust. Soc. Am. 130, 1515-1529 (2011)] independently investigated the isolated effect of pause duration on sensitivity to interaural time differences (ITD) in the ongoing stimulus envelope. The steepness of the threshold ITD as a function of pause duration functions differed considerably across studies. The present study, using matched carrier and modulation frequencies, directly compared threshold ITDs for the two envelope flank shapes from those studies. The results agree well when defining the metric of pause duration based on modulation depth sensitivity.

Link zur Publikation

(Stand: 20.04.2022)