Research Projects

Technical skills in talent research in sport

In the last few decades, an increasing number of talent identification and development (TID) programs in sports have been installed by professional sports clubs, commercial agencies and national governing institutions. All have the goal of identifying talented young athletes as early as possible in the hope of laying the foundations for superior senior performance and success in the long term. Undoubtedly, ‘talent’ as well as high level performance in most sports requires a range of perceptual, cognitive, psychological, tactical and technical skills. In particular, technical skills seem to be essential given the highly demanding and specialized proficiencies required for high quality performance in various sports even during early phases of development.

This project investigates the role of sport-specific technical skills in the context of talent science in various sports. The focus is to further understand technical skills’ crucial role within TID activities and to fathom the potential of so far sparingly applied biomechanical assessment methods. Here, innovative and new methods (e.g. Inertial Measurement Units (IMUs) or markerless motion analysis) will be applied and tested. In the end, the gained knowledge and findings will be of use for the scientific talent field as well as the applied sports.

Contact: Till Koopmann

The role of contextual information for anticipation in sport

In sports games, there are often situations in which it is necessary to anticipate the outcome of an opponent's action in order to adapt one's own actions accordingly and thereby achieve an advantage in the respective situation. These situations often arise due to time pressure, for example because the distances between the players are very small in relation to the speed of movement or the speed of a flying ball. By anticipating opponent actions early on, the own defensive movement can be initiated early and executed more precisely, thus increasing the chances for a successful defense. Anticipation may be driven by different sources of information. So far, research primarily focused on the influence of kinematic information created by opponents. This project deals with the question of the influence of contextual information on anticipation. Contextual information is defined as probabilities for different opponents' actions, which depend, for example, on on-court positions, patterns of previous outcomes, individual action preferences, or game score. Specifically, this project investigates the influence of opponents’ action preferences, mediated externally as is commonly realized during time-outs in, for instance, volleyball, handball or basketball games, on anticipation. Furthermore, it will be examined whether and to what extend this information is relevant in concert with other contextual information concurrently available. This project is intended to make a scientific contribution to a better understanding of the influence of contextual information on anticipation. From an applied perspective, preliminary recommendations on how to communicate action preferences and their overall benefit for performance may be obtained.

Contact: Tim Lüders

(Changed: 2020-03-26)

Navigation

Technische Fertigkeiten in der Talentforschung im Sport

In den letzten Jahrzehnten ist die Anzahl nationaler Sportinstitutionen, kommerzieller Agenturen und professioneller Sportvereine mit Maßnahmen zur Talentidentifikation und -entwicklung (TIE) stark angestiegen. Sie eint das Ziel der möglichst frühen Erkennung talentierter junger Spieler*innen, um hiermit vermeintlich die Basis für ausgezeichnete langfristige Leistung zu legen. Es steht außer Frage, dass sich sowohl ‚Talent‘ als auch Höchstleistung in den meisten Sportarten aus verschiedenen Faktoren zusammensetzt, wie z.B. Wahrnehmung, Kognition, Psychologie, Taktik und Technik. Hierbei steht den technischen Fertigkeiten eine zentrale Rolle zu, besonders in Anbetracht der bereits im Jugendalter in vielen Sportarten geforderten, höchst spezialisierten Fertigkeiten.

Im Rahmen des Projekts wird die Rolle der sportart-spezifischen, technischen Fertigkeiten im Kontext der Talentforschung in verschiedenen Sportarten tiefgehend beleuchtet. Hierbei steht die Erforschung der Bedeutung der sportart-spezifischen Technik bei der Talentidentifikation und -förderung im Vordergrund. Zudem wird das Potenzial der bisher zurückhaltend verwendeten biomechanischen Messmethoden ergründet und in diesem Kontext innovative und neue Erhebungs- und Analyseverfahren (z.B. Inertial Measurement Units (IMUs) oder markerlose Bewegungsanalyse) erprobt. Im Endeffekt sollen die Erkenntnisse sowohl die wissenschaftliche Talentforschung als auch die sportliche Praxis voranbringen und fördern.

Ansprechperson: Till Koopmann

Bedeutung von Kontextinformationen für die Antizipation im Sport

In Sportspielen gibt es häufig Situationen, in denen gegnerische Handlungsausgänge antizipiert werden müssen, um das eigene Handeln darauf auszurichten und dadurch einen Vorteil in der jeweiligen Situation zu erlangen. Diese Situationen entstehen häufig durch Zeitdruck, da bspw. die Distanzen zwischen den Akteuren in Bezug auf Bewegungsgeschwindigkeit bzw. die Geschwindigkeit eines fliegenden Balles sehr gering sind. Durch ein frühes Vorhersehen von Gegnerhandlungen kann die eigene Abwehrbewegung frühzeitig initiiert und präziser ausgeführt werden. Damit können sich die Chancen auf eine erfolgreiche Abwehr erhöhen. Zur Antizipation werden unterschiedliche Informationsquellen herangezogen, um eine genaue Abschätzung treffen zu können. Dabei stand bislang vor allem der Einfluss kinematischer Informationen der Gegenspieler*innen im Fokus der Wissenschaft. Dieses Projekt widmet sich nun der Frage nach dem Einfluss von kontextuellen Informationen auf die Antizipation. Unter Kontextinformationen werden Wahrscheinlichkeiten für unterschiedliche gegnerische Handlungsausgänge verstanden, die bspw. mit der gegnerischen Spielfeldposition, Mustern in vorausgegangenen Spielsituationen, individuellen Handlungsvorlieben oder dem Spielstand verknüpft sein können. Konkret soll in diesem Projekt untersucht werden, welchen Einfluss von außen vermittelte Handlungspräferenzen, wie sie bspw. in Auszeiten eines Volleyball-, Handball-, oder Basketballspiels gegeben werden, auf die Antizipation haben. Des Weiteren soll überprüft werden, ob und wie bedeutsam diese Informationen unter der Verfügbarkeit weiterer Kontextinformationen sind. Dieses Projekt soll einen wissenschaftlichen Beitrag dazu leisten, den Einfluss von kontextuellen Informationen auf die Antizipation besser zu verstehen. Für die Sportpraxis könnten vorläufige Empfehlungen zur optimalen Vermittlung bzw. zum Nutzen von Handlungspräferenzinformationen abgeleitet werden.

Ansprechperson: Tim Lüders

Webm3f6onaster (bjoerwvhn.w/staas@uzc76ol.de) (Stand: 26.03.2020)