Regulations of the Graduate School OLTECH

The regulations of the Graduate School OLTECH (Official Announcements - german)

About us

About the Graduate School

Structure of the Graduate School OLTECH

The Graduate School 'Science, Medicine and Technology' functions as an umbrella organisation for the PhD study programmes of the Faculty of Mathematics and Science, the Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences and the Department of Computing Science of the School of Computing Science, Business Administration, Economics, and Law (Faculty II) .

The Graduate School OLTECH offers a three-year PhD programme at the university of Oldenburg with a focus on research in the fields of:

Structure of the PhD study programmes

By working on his/her PhD project and participating in one of the PhD study programmes, the candidat achieves his/her title and a certificate about the successful participation in the PhD programme.

The participants are integrated into the research areas of the Research Centre Neurosensory Science (RCNS), the Centre of Interface Science (CIS), the Institute for Biology and Environmental Sciences (IBU) and the Institute for Chemistry and Biology of the Marine Environment (ICBM).

The PhD study programmes and the Graduate School OLTECH offer modules in scientific knowledge, communicative competences and interdisciplinary competences.


International Activities

Students are encouraged to study and work in laboratories abroad. Such international research visits should be made for a longer period of time or in several shorter periods. Students should present their results at international con­gresses and enlarge their scientific networks internationally.

We encourage our PhD students to participate in international summer schools and congresses. Travel grants of the Graduate School OLTECH are available twice a year.


The Graduate School OLTECH offers a network to other research institutes and regional enterprises. The PhD study programmes encourage individual internships or trainings in companies and international research institutes.

(Changed: 2021-04-30)