Registration for the Anniversary Symposium of the Research Center Neurosensory Science on October 6th, 2023.


Executive Director

Prof. Dr. Michael Winklhofer

+49 (0) 441 798-3305


 Dr. Nina Gaßmann

+49 (0) 441 798-5475

+49 (0) 441 798-19 5475

W30 0-001

Prizes and Awards

Preise und Auszeichnungen

Members of the Research Center Neurosensory Science, as well as students and academic staff from the Center's various working groups, have received the following awards and accolades since 2007:

Students and scientific staff

Dr. Merle Schrader, from the team headed by Prof. Dr. med. med. Sabine Aisenbrey from the Department of Ophthalmology at the PIUS Hospital Oldenburg, together with Dr. med. Daniela Süsskind from the University Hospital Tübingen received the poster award at the 113th Congress of the German Ophthalmological Society 2015. Both scientists have presented their research results on the therapy of retinoblastoma. Siehe Poster.

Arndt Meyer, AG Neurobiologie, Department of Neurosciences, Faculty VI Medicine and Health Sciences, won first prize in 2014 in the Photo Competition "The Best Photo in Vision Research and Ophthalmology", organized by the European Vision Institute EEIG (Belgium) in cooperation with Heidelberg Engineering GmbH.

Bastian Epp, Institute of Physics
January 2009: Scholarship of the Heinz Neumüller Foundation for Doctoral Students of the University of Oldenburg from faculties II and V
Christine Maira Hein, AG Neurosensorik (Animal Navigation), IBU 
January 2009: Scholarship of the Heinz Neumüller Foundation for Doctoral Students of the University of Oldenburg from faculties II and V

Frauke Ernst geb. Wenderoth, Institut for Physics
May 2008: Niedersächsischer Wissenschaftspreis 2008 in the category "Bachelor- or Masterstudents of a Lower Saxony University"
Flyer of the award ceremony 2008 >>> pdf

Sarah Verhulst will receive the Lower Saxony Science Award in November 2016 in the Young Talent category

The Minister of Science and Culture of Lower Saxony, Gabriele Heinen-Kljajić, honored 14 personalities from universities in Lower Saxony on November 17, 2016 in Hannover with the Lower Saxony 2016 Science Award.

The prize for junior researchers, endowed with 20,000 euros, went to Prof. Dr. med. Sarah Verhulst from the Carl von Ossietzky University Oldenburg. Prof. Sarah Verhulst holds a junior professorship at the Cluster of Excellence "Hearing4all" and is involved in the development of diagnostic methods for studying the function of the hearing system, among other things.

Find the official press release of the ministry for science and culture here.

Ulrike Feudel, WG Theoretical Physics

Hungarian Research Award for physicist Prof. dr. Ulrike Feudel

Prof. Dr. Ulrike Feudel, professor of physics and member of the Research Center for Neurosensorics, has been awarded the MTA Distinguished Guest Scientist Fellowship by the Hungarian Academy of Sciences. The prize is awarded to outstanding visiting scientists and includes funding for a three-month research stay in Hungary. The funding amount is 20,000 euros. Ms. Feudel was awarded the prize for her project "Critical transitions in environmental systems".

For more Information see press release of the University 08.09.2015

Birger Kollmeier, WG Medicinical Physics

September 2017:
The physicist and physician Prof. Dr. Dr. Birger Kollmeier, spokesman for the Cluster of Excellence Hearing4all, has received the highest honor of the German Society for Medical Physics (DGMP). The board of the association honored Kollmeier's "outstanding achievements in the field of medical physics in science and practice" with the Glocker medal, which is held annually in memory of the first DGMP honorary member Prof. Dr. med. Richard Glocker is awarded. Prof. Kollmeier has already received numerous important awards, including the German Future Prize (German Federal Prize for Technology and Innovation, 2012).

August 2016:
Prof. Dr. Dr. Birger Kollmeier Receives Oldenburg Business Award "Oldenburger Bulle 2016" Federal Research Minister Johanna Wanka and Lord Mayor Jürgen Krogmann presented to the Oldenburg auditor Prof. Dr. med. Dr. Birger Kollmeier awarded the "Oldenburger Bullen 2016". Prof. Kollmeier made a significant contribution to strengthening the international reputation of the University of Oldenburg and to making a total contribution to Oldenburg as a business location, the statement of reasons for the award ceremony said.

Oktober 2015:
 "The Oldenburg Business Award - In Memory of Dr. Hubert Forch" goes to Prof. Dr. med. Dr. Birger Kollmeier The prize is awarded once a year and is endowed with 5,000 euros. The award recognizes achievements that have promoted the economic region Weser-Ems in a special way. Birger Kollmeier is a professor at the Department of Medical Physics and Acoustics at the University of Oldenburg, scientific director of the Hörzentrum Oldenburg GmbH, the HörTech gGmbH, the Fraunhofer IDMT project group for Hearing, Speech and Audio Technology as well as spokesman of the Cluster of Excellence "Hearing4All" and longtime member of the Forschungszentrum Neurosensorics. The award ceremony took place on Thursday, 08. October 2015, 19.00 clock, in the Horst Janssen Museum Oldenburg.

November 2012:
The Federal President awards the German Future Prize 2012 to Hörforscher team Birger Kollmeier and Volker Hohmann as well as Dr. Ing. Torsten Niederdränk (Siemens AG). Further information: University Press Service No. 488/12 from 28.11.2012 April 2012: Prof. Dr. med. Dr. Birger Kollmeier has received the renowned International Award of the American Academy of Audiology in Boston (USA). It is one of the highest honors for international researchers in the field of audiology. It is awarded by the world's largest audiology specialist. Further information: University Press Service No. 113/12 from 03.04.2012September 2011: Lower Saxony Science Award in the category "Outstanding Scientist at Universities" University Press Service 371/11 from 28. 09. 11 November 2009: Karl-Küpfmüller-Ring TU Darmstadt University Press Service 512/09 from 16.11.09

Henrik Mouritsen, WG Neurosensorics/Animal Navigation

Juni 2011: Eric Kandel Young Neuroscientists Prize, Hertie Foundation in cooperation with the Federation of European Neuroscience Societies
Uni-Press 213/11 vom 06.06.11

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Wolfgang Nebel, Department for Informatics, University of Oldenburg and cairman of the Informatics institute OFFIS

Februar 2012:Wolfgang Nebel announced IEEE-Fellow 
Uni-Press 035/12 vom 01. Februar 2012

Prof. Dr. Reto Weiler, AG Neurobiology, first director of the Research Center Neurosensory Science

January 2013: Prof. Dr. Reto Weiler, Vice Dean of Faculty VI Medicine and Health Sciences at the University of Oldenburg and Rector of the Hanse-Wissenschaftskolleg in Delmenhorst, has been appointed by the Federal President of the Republic of Austria to the Austrian Science Council.

August 2012: The Federation of American Societies for Experimental Biology (FASEB) has Reto Weiler awarded the prestigious "Boycott Prize"
Uni-Press 330/12 vom 15. August 2012

(Changed: 19 Jan 2024)  | 
Zum Seitananfang scrollen Scroll to the top of the page