Prof. Dr. Gunther Wittstock
Group leader

Group members

+49 (0) 441 798 3970

+49 (0) 441 798 3979

Postal address

Universität Oldenburg
Fakultät 5 / Physikalische Chemie
AG Wittstock
D-26111 Oldenburg


University of Oldenburg
Campus Wechloy
Carl-von-Ossietzky-Straße 9-11
Building W3, 1st floor
D-26129 Oldenburg



By following the links below, you leave the internet pages of the Wittstock research group and of the University of Oldenburg. The Wittstock group and the University of Oldenburg are not responsible for the content of the pages linked here.

Our research group was active in the following coordinated research programs:

DFG Research Training Group GRK2226 „Activation of Chemical Bonds“

DFG Research Unit FOR2213 „Nanoporous Gold: A prototype for a rational design of catalysts“ [Link]

DFG-Priority Program 1928 „Coordination Networks: Building Blocks for Functional Systems“ [Link]

Research Training Group "Nano- Energy Research“ [Link]

Cooperative structures

CIS (Center of Interface Science) [Link]

HWK (Hanse Wissenschaftskolleg) [Link]

The Hanse Wissenschaftskolleg - Institute of Advanced Studies is a charity foundation of private law set up by the states of Lower Saxony and Bremen as well as the Municipality of the city of Delmenhorst. It is located midway between the University cities of Bremen and Oldenburg. HWK offers a fellowship program for guest researchers in designated research directions (among them energy research where we are active). Fellowship applications are accepted biannually. It also host small conferences and symposia.


Completed Programs

Research Training Group „System Integration of Renewable Energy“ [Link]

Research Training Group „Energy storage and Electromobility in Lower Saxony“ (GEENI) [Final Report]

DFG Research Unit 432 "BioGeoChemie des Watts" [Link]

DFG Priority Program 1030 "Foundation of Electrochemical Nanotechnology" [Link]

(Changed: 2021-04-30)