Condensed Matter Theory

The Condensed Matter Theory group at the Physics Institute of the Carl von Ossietzky University in Oldenburg consists of two closely interacting subunits.

One of these, headed by Prof. Dr. Martin Holthaus, is engaged in the study of quantum phase transition, and in the investigation of non-equilibrium effects in time-dependent many-body systems, with particular emphasis on Floquet systems.

The other subunit, led by Priv. Doz. Dr. Svend-Age Biehs, addresses thermally induced near-field phenomena, including the theory of Near-Field Scanning Thermal Microscopes (NSThMs), metamaterials, thermotronics, and magneto-plasmonics.


Institut für Physik
Carl von Ossietzky Universität
D-26111 Oldenburg
Fax: +49 / 441 / 798 - 3080

(Changed: 19 Jan 2024)  | 
Zum Seitananfang scrollen Scroll to the top of the page