+49 (0)441 798-5450

+49 (0)441 798-2399

ÖCO 2-116

Secretarial Office

Birgitta Niese, Diana Rayzburd

+49 (0)441 798-5453/ 5452

Personal Assistant

Aeilt Poppinga

+49 (0)441 798-4754

Visitor Address

Uhlhornsweg 99 b
26129 Oldenburg

Postal Address

Carl von Ossietzky Universität Oldenburg
Ammerländer Heerstraße 114-118
26129 Oldenburg

President of the University

Prof. Dr. Dr. Hans Michael Piper

Professor Piper has been President of the University of Oldenburg since August 1, 2015.

He studied Medicine, Physics and Philosophy at the University of Göttingen. Professor Dr. Dr. Piper holds doctoral degrees in Medicine and Philosophy and a post-doctoral degree (‘Habilitation’) in Physiology. Following a Professorship at the University of Düsseldorf and conducting research stays in England and Canada, he became Professor of Physiology at the University of Giessen. There, he was Director of the Institute of Physiology for many years and held the positions of Vice Dean and Dean of the Department of Medicine, as well as being the Founding Director of the Giessen Graduate Centre for the Life Sciences (GGL). From 2008 to 2014, he was Rector of the University of Düsseldorf, then Director of the Institute for Molecular Medicine III at the University Hospital of Düsseldorf.

As a scientist, Professor Piper has acted as an initiator and member of various research alliances within the German Research Foundation (DFG) and was a member of the DFG Review Board. He served as Conference President for the German Society of Cardiology and the German Physiological Society and was editor-in-chief of the journal Cardiovascular Research for many years. His scientific expertise lies in the field of cardiovascular research.

(Changed: 2021-07-23)