Kai Siedenburg

Principal Investigator

+49 (0)441 798-3579 


Carl von Ossietzky University of Oldenburg, Fak. VI - Dept. für medizinische Physik und Akustik, Ammerländer Heerstr 114--118, 26111 Oldenburg, Germany


Photo: Die Junge Akademie/Peter Himsel


Kai Siedenburg is a research group leader at the University Oldenburg with a focus on the perception of sound and music. He studied mathematics and musicology in Berlin, Berkeley, and Vienna, and obtained a PhD from McGill University with a dissertation on musical timbre perception and cognition. Subsequently, Kai was Marie Skłodowska-Curie fellow at the University of Oldenburg, researching music perception of hearing-impaired listeners. Currently, Kai is Freigeist fellow (VolkswagenFoundation) and principal investigator of the Oldenburg Music Perception and Processing Lab. He is editor of the 2019 Springer Handbook of Auditory Research volume on "Timbre: Acoustics, Perception, and Cognition" and received the Lothar Cremer Award from the German Acoustical Society in Acoustics in 2020.

Research Interests

  • Music perception and cognition
  • Auditory scene analysis
  • Hearing impairment 
  • Music signal processing


  • PhD in Music Technology, McGill University, Montreal, May 2016
  • MSc (Diplom) in Mathematics (major) and Musicology (minor), Humboldt University Berlin, Jan 2012
  • Visiting student in Mathematics, University of Vienna, 2011
  • Fulbright visiting student in Music and Mathematics, University of California at Berkeley,  2008-2009 

Professional Distinctions

  • Elected Member, Die Junge Akademie, 2022-2027
  • Lothar-Cremer Price of the German Acoustical Society (DEGA), 2020
  • Freigeist Fellowship, Volkswagen Foundation, 2020-2025
  • Marie Skłodowska-Curie Individual Postdoctoral Fellowship, H2020 Reintegration Panel, 2018-2020
  • Best Paper Award (1st prize), 20th Int. Conf. on Digital Audio Effects (DAFX), Edinburgh, UK, 2017
  • Harman Scholar, Audio Engineering Society (AES) Educational Foundation, 2013-2015
  • Fulbright Scholar, J. William Fulbright Commission, 2008-2009
  • German National Academic Foundation, 2005-2011


For a complete list of publications, see here.

(Changed: 10 Jun 2022)