Contact details

Dr. Dmitry Momotenko
Group Leader

+49 441 798 3644

Postal Address

Universität Oldenburg
Fakultät 5 / Institute für Chemie
D-26111 Oldenburg
Germany

For visitors

University of Oldenburg
Campus Wechloy
Carl-von-Ossietzky-Straße 9-11
Building W3, Room W3-1-117, 1st floor
D-26129 Oldenburg
Germany

Batteries

3D batteries

Battery is a device that stores energy to later be converted into electricity using chemical reactions. Rechargeable lithium ion batteries (LIBs) due to their overall superior performance in terms of energy density and power efficiency dominate the market for consumer electronics, wearables and automotive applications. Global Li ion battery industry demonstrates a spectacular continuous growth and in a decade is expected to surpass the current records of 120 GWh (€24 billion) with a ten-fold increase.1Technological development, however, lags this increasing demand. Although a tremendous progress has been made in the LIBs’ characteristics on the active materials side, which has been recently acknowledged by a Nobel Prize in chemistry, the performance of LIBs is growing incrementally by only several percent every year.2 This significantly hinders further technological progress in all areas, where batteries with higher power, shorter charging times and larger capacities are needed.

LIBs operation is based on the insertion and de-insertion of lithium at the electrodes and transport of lithium ions from an anode to a cathode. The transport of lithium occurs through an electrolyte, which provides a conductive medium for Li+ ions, while electrons flow through an external circuit. In a typical configuration (see Figure 1), LIB consists of metallic current collectors, coated with the active electrode material, capable for reversible intercalation and deintercalation of lithium, such as lithium metal oxides, LiFePO4 and others at the cathode and graphite, lithium titanate, transition metals that form alloys with lithium and other materials at the anode. The electrodes are usually separated by a porous polymeric membrane that prevents direct electrical contact between the electrodes.

The current paradigm in Li ion technology is based on the two-dimensional planar configuration of battery cells. The major drawback of this layout is that it is impossible to achieve simultaneously high output power (current) and high energy density (capacity) of the battery. Typically, the increase of the energy density requires an extension of the thickness of active electrode layers, which comes at a cost of reduced power due to slower transport rates of ions through thicker films and higher ohmic resistances during battery operation, related to low conductivity of cathode materials and to chemical gradients that arise upon redistribution of ionic species. Since similar issues (and some others) arise during charging, batteries require relatively long charging times that approach tens of minutes and hours because higher rates usually lead to a capacity loss. For example, a typical time to reach 80% capacity of the Tesla car battery is around 30 minutes,3 same for the iPhone for its 50% state of charge.4 The disadvantages of LIBs related to long charging times impose the need to search for materials with higher energy density to reach higher capacity that will allow extending the range of electric vehicles and improving operation times of electronic devices, which are currently limited.

In contrast to the mainstream in battery research, we are working on an unconventional approach with the aim to make a major leap in charging rates (to restore power within seconds) and introduce LIBs capable to deliver high output current without compromising other performance characteristics and with the use of already established electrode materials. This has a potential to change the paradigm not only in battery engineering but also establish new future for mobile electronics and electric vehicles.

While it is impossible to achieve such a groundbreaking improvement with the standard design of battery cells, this project will use concepts of additive manufacturing (AM) for fabrication of closely spaced high aspect ratio nanostructures forming the anode and the cathode. From the simple geometric calculations one can thus anticipate 698 to 806-fold increase in the electrode surface area. Advantages of 3D design immediately translate into: (i) higher overall current enabled by larger surface area, providing an equivalent increase in power; (ii) faster ion transport due to nanoscale spacing between electrodes, and also faster charging allowed by very low current density, enabling almost three orders of magnitude higher charging rates with the no adverse effects on capacity; (iii) improved heat dissipation and reduced heating (low Ohmic losses). To illustrate this advancement, one can imagine charging a mobile phone battery to its 50% capacity in 2.6 seconds (!), which is nearly instantaneous.

The intrinsic advantage of the 3D battery layout is nanoscale separation between the battery electrodes and high overall surface area, which does not compromise other performance characteristics. To demonstrate that this design doesn’t affect the gravimetric capacity, one can consider batteries with typical high-performance cathode materials, like LiFePO4 (theoretical specific capacity 170 A h kg-1) and Li4Ti5O12 (175 A h kg-1). Comparison of a 3D battery with pillars on a square grid, containing FePO4 in the form of thin film (45 nm) covering the iron pillar core, to the “flat” battery of the same dimensions (total cell thickness of 100 μm, with cathode and the anode of 40 μm) suggests that gravimetric capacity remains almost unaffected (84.8 vs 88.8 A h kg-1), although some reduction is expected in volumetric characteristics (A h L-1).

Meanwhile current research efforts worldwide are almost exclusively focused on materials’ performance, our group is exploring new 3D printing approaches to make a breakthrough in the battery technology.

 

References

1.         Tsiropoulos, I.; Tarvydas, D.; Lebedeva, N. Li-ion Batteries for Mobility and Stationary Storage Applications. JRC Science for Policy Report 2018.

2.         Yoshino, A. Development of the Lithium-Ion Battery and Recent Technological Trends. In Lithium-Ion Batteries; Pistoia, G., Ed.; Elsevier: Amsterdam, 2014; pp 1-20.

3.         Tesla Cars website. https://www.tesla.com/supercharger (accessed 07 October 2019).

4.         Apple website. https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT208137 (accessed 07 October 2019).

 

(Changed: 2021-10-18)

Kontakt

Dr. Dmitry Momotenko
Gruppenleiter

+49 441 798 3644

Postanschrift

Universität Oldenburg
Fakultät 5 / Institute für Chemie
D-26111 Oldenburg
Deutschland

Besuchanschrift

Universität Oldenburg
Campus Wechloy
Carl-von-Ossietzky-Straße 9-11
Gebäude W3, Raum W3-1-117, 1. Stock
D-26129 Oldenburg
Deutschland

Batterien

3D Batterien

Batterie ist ein Gerät, das Energie speichert, um sie später durch chemische Reaktionen in Strom umzuwandeln. Wiederaufladbare Lithium-Ionen-Batterien (LIBs) dominieren aufgrund ihrer insgesamt überlegenen Leistung in Bezug auf Energiedichte und Energieeffizienz den Markt für Unterhaltungselektronik, Wearables und Automobilanwendungen. Die globale Li-Ionen-Batterieindustrie weist ein spektakuläres kontinuierliches Wachstum auf und wird voraussichtlich in einem Jahrzehnt die aktuellen Rekorde von 120 GWh (24 Milliarden Euro) mit einem zehnfachen Anstieg übertreffen.Die technologische Entwicklung hinkt jedoch dieser steigenden Nachfrage hinterher. Obwohl auf der Aktivmaterialseite ein enormer Fortschritt bei den Eigenschaften der LIBs erzielt wurde, die kürzlich mit einem Nobelpreis für Chemie ausgezeichnet wurden, wächst die Leistung der LIBs jedes Jahr nur schrittweise um einige Prozent.2 Dies behindert weitere technologische Fortschritt in allen Bereichen, in denen Batterien mit höherer Leistung, kürzeren Ladezeiten und größeren Kapazitäten benötigt werden.

Der Betrieb von LIBs basiert auf dem Ein- und Auslagern von Lithium an den Elektroden und dem Transport von Lithiumionen von einer Anode zu einer Kathode. Der Transport von Lithium erfolgt durch einen Elektrolyten, der ein leitfähiges Medium für Li+-Ionen darstellt, während Elektronen durch einen externen Kreislauf fließen. In einer typischen Konfiguration (siehe Abbildung 1) besteht LIB aus metallischen Stromkollektoren, die mit dem aktiven Elektrodenmaterial beschichtet sind und zur reversiblen Interkalation und Deinterkalation von Lithium fähig sind, wie Lithiummetalloxiden, LiFePO4 und anderen an der Kathode und Graphit, Lithiumtitanat , Übergangsmetalle, die mit Lithium und anderen Materialien an der Anode Legierungen bilden. Die Elektroden sind normalerweise durch eine poröse Polymermembran getrennt, die einen direkten elektrischen Kontakt zwischen den Elektroden verhindert.

Das aktuelle Paradigma in der Li-Ionen-Technologie basiert auf der zweidimensionalen planaren Anordnung von Batteriezellen. Der große Nachteil dieser Anordnung besteht darin, dass es unmöglich ist, gleichzeitig eine hohe Ausgangsleistung (Strom) und eine hohe Energiedichte (Kapazität) der Batterie zu erreichen. Typischerweise erfordert die Erhöhung der Energiedichte eine Vergrößerung der Dicke der aktiven Elektrodenschichten, was auf Kosten einer verringerten Leistung aufgrund langsamerer Transportraten von Ionen durch dickere Filme und höherer ohmscher Widerstände während des Batteriebetriebs, verbunden mit einer geringen Leitfähigkeit von Kathodenmaterialien und auf chemische Gradienten, die bei der Umverteilung ionischer Spezies entstehen. Da während des Ladens ähnliche Probleme (und einige andere) auftreten, benötigen Batterien relativ lange Ladezeiten, die in die Nähe von Dutzenden von Minuten und Stunden gehen, da höhere Raten normalerweise zu einem Kapazitätsverlust führen. Eine typische Zeit zum Erreichen von 80 % der Kapazität der Tesla-Autobatterie beträgt beispielsweise etwa 30 Minuten,3 das gleiche gilt für das iPhone mit seinem 50 %-Ladezustand.4 Die Nachteile von LIBs in Bezug auf lange Ladezeiten machen eine Suche erforderlich Materialien mit höherer Energiedichte, um eine höhere Kapazität zu erreichen, die es ermöglicht, die Reichweite von Elektrofahrzeugen zu erweitern und die Betriebszeiten elektronischer Geräte zu verbessern, die derzeit begrenzt sind.

Im Gegensatz zum Mainstream in der Batterieforschung arbeiten wir an einem unkonventionellen Ansatz mit dem Ziel, einen großen Sprung bei den Laderaten zu machen (um die Stromversorgung innerhalb von Sekunden wiederherzustellen) und LIBs einzuführen, die in der Lage sind, hohe Ausgangsströme zu liefern, ohne andere Leistungsmerkmale zu beeinträchtigen und mit die Verwendung bereits etablierter Elektrodenmaterialien. Dies hat das Potenzial, das Paradigma nicht nur in der Batterietechnik zu ändern, sondern auch eine neue Zukunft für mobile Elektronik und Elektrofahrzeuge zu schaffen.

Während es mit dem Standarddesign von Batteriezellen unmöglich ist, eine so bahnbrechende Verbesserung zu erreichen, werden in diesem Projekt Konzepte der additiven Fertigung (AM) zur Herstellung von eng beabstandeten Nanostrukturen mit hohem Aspektverhältnis verwendet, die die Anode und die Kathode bilden. Aus einfachen geometrischen Berechnungen kann man somit eine 698- bis 806-fache Vergrößerung der Elektrodenoberfläche erwarten. Die Vorteile des 3D-Designs übersetzen sich sofort in: (i) höherer Gesamtstrom, ermöglicht durch eine größere Oberfläche, was eine äquivalente Leistungssteigerung liefert; (ii) schnellerer Ionentransport aufgrund des nanoskaligen Abstands zwischen den Elektroden und auch schnelleres Laden, das durch eine sehr niedrige Stromdichte ermöglicht wird, wodurch fast drei Größenordnungen höhere Laderaten ohne nachteilige Auswirkungen auf die Kapazität ermöglicht werden; (iii) verbesserte Wärmeableitung und reduzierte Erwärmung (niedrige ohmsche Verluste). Um diesen Fortschritt zu veranschaulichen, kann man sich vorstellen, einen Handy-Akku in 2,6 Sekunden (!) auf seine 50% Kapazität aufzuladen, was fast augenblicklich ist.

Der intrinsische Vorteil des 3D-Batterielayouts ist die nanoskalige Trennung zwischen den Batterieelektroden und die hohe Gesamtoberfläche, die andere Leistungsmerkmale nicht beeinträchtigt. Um zu zeigen, dass dieses Design die gravimetrische Kapazität nicht beeinflusst, kann man Batterien mit typischen Hochleistungskathodenmaterialien wie LiFePO4 (theoretische spezifische Kapazität 170 Ah kg-1) und Li4Ti5O12 (175 Ah kg-1) betrachten. Vergleich einer 3D-Batterie mit Säulen auf einem quadratischen Raster, die FePO4 in Form eines dünnen Films (45 nm) enthält, der den Eisensäulenkern bedeckt, mit der „flachen“ Batterie gleicher Abmessungen (Gesamtzelldicke 100 μm, mit Kathode und der Anode von 40 μm) lässt vermuten, dass die gravimetrische Kapazität nahezu unbeeinflusst bleibt (84,8 vs. 88,8 Ah kg-1), obwohl eine gewisse Verringerung der volumetrischen Eigenschaften (A h L-1) erwartet wird.

Während sich die aktuellen Forschungsanstrengungen weltweit fast ausschließlich auf die Leistungsfähigkeit von Materialien konzentrieren, erforscht unsere Gruppe neue 3D-Druckansätze, um einen Durchbruch in der Batterietechnologie zu erzielen.

 

Literaturhinweise

1.         Tsiropoulos, I.; Tarvydas, D.; Lebedeva, N. Li-ion Batteries for Mobility and Stationary Storage Applications. JRC Science for Policy Report 2018.

2.         Yoshino, A. Development of the Lithium-Ion Battery and Recent Technological Trends. In Lithium-Ion Batteries; Pistoia, G., Ed.; Elsevier: Amsterdam, 2014; pp 1-20.

3.         Tesla Cars website. https://www.tesla.com/supercharger (accessed 07 October 2019).

4.         Apple website. https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT208137 (accessed 07 October 2019).

 

(Stand: 18.10.2021)