Contact

Dr. rer. nat. Jan Vogelsang

Institute of Physics  (» Postal address)

W2 2-201 (» Adress and map )

+49 441 798-3515  (F&P

Attosecond Microscopy

Welcome to the website of the junior research group "Attosecond Microscopy".

We are a research group in the field of experimental physics at the Institute of Physics of School V at the Carl von Ossietzky University Oldenburg. Every day, we work to advance into new realms of spatiotemporal resolution that no one has been able to explore before. We develop new experimental methods to be able to investigate charge carriers in and around nanostructures and interfaces on their natural length and time scales. In particular, we are interested in how charge carriers can be controlled with optical fields in heterogeneous structures.

Our work is funded by the German Research Foundation (DFG) as part of the Emmy Noether Programme from 2022 and is supported at the university in particular by the UNO and ULTRA working groups, among other things by allowing us to share parts of their labs and equipment.

News

The foundation

Just like a house, an optical construction also needs a foundation. In this case, however, the foundation is not poured on site, but comes from the factory in France: Our optical table has arrived! Due to the excellent preparation by Raimond and the mechanics workshop as well as the active support by the many members of the AG UNO, the table was quickly in the laboratory. So it is ready to become the basis for lasers, optical setups and vacuum chambers in the near future. Thanks to all for the great support!

Welcome, Arvid!

We continue to grow, Arvid will soon be actively supporting us as part of his Master's thesis! There are many possibilities, from laser setup with attosecond pulse generation to ultrafast electron microscopy. Which one he will choose for his work in the end, we will see in the next few months. First of all, welcome!

Delivery of the electron microscope earlier than expected

Even though major projects are usually characterised by delivery delays and cost increases, our PEEM is preparing to be completed earlier than expected. Focus company is confident that we will be able to carry out the two-day acceptance of the complete unit in Hünstetten as early as the second half of October. Afterwards, we can take it directly to Oldenburg (or, better, have it sent insured by parcel/pallet) and put it into operation here. This is a unique opportunity to receive direct training from the manufacturer and then use the microscope in our laboratory. Please contact us if you are interested.

The optical table will be delivered at the end of August, so that all the new purchases can no longer pile up in the offices but in the lab. Does anyone feel like setting up a camera (Raspberry Pi?) to document the setup with regular photos in the weeks that follow? :)

Laser and PEEM on the way

Our new laser (Light Conversion Carbide, 80 W, 250 fs) has now been ordered and is being manufactured in Lithuania. Delivery is scheduled for the turn of the year. Before that, we will probably receive a "demo laser", which will allow us to start earlier already in October.

In parallel, the order and delivery of the electron microscope (PEEM) is also well on its way. It is already finished "in principle", but still needs the usual test programme and its own electronics unit. In addition, the second detector (delay line detector) still has to be integrated. A partial delivery in October is planned so that we can start on time with the beginning of the winter semester.

Furthermore, all kinds of other components have now been ordered or are in the ordering process, so that many new components are waiting to be used in the autumn. Interested? Feel free to contact us!

Welcome Caro!

Today Carolin Bauer starts her bachelor thesis with us in the group. She is already the third person who has found her way to us in just a few months, which we are very happy about. A warm welcome!

Caro is working on the characterisation of ultrashort laser pulses with the "Dispersion Scan" method and will compare the results with other measurement methods. This work is being done in collaboration with the Ultra and UNO WGs, whose laser systems we will be taking a particularly close look at here.

Fresh jobs and projects

There is currently new information on advertised projects on the "Open Positions" subpage. Feel free to check it out!

Start of two Bachelor theses

After minor delays due to Corona, Kerstin and Ansgar started their bachelor theses in the Attosecond Microscopy Junior Research Group today. A warm welcome!

Kerstin is working on building an electron microscope with high spatiotemporal resolution to directly visualise optical fields around nanostructures. Ansgar is working on increasing the output power of a laser system and its characterisation to enable new experiments in the field of light-matter interaction.

Wolf price awarded to Anne L'Huillier!

Congratulations to Anne L'Huillier at Lund University on receiving this year's Wolf Prize in Physics together with Paul Corkum and Ferenc Krausz. She and her colleagues receive the award for their groundbreaking work in the field of ultrafast and attosecond physics.

Here you can find the announcement on the Lund University website.

Electron microscope and laser

The tenders for the photoemission electron microscope and the pump laser are well underway, and the invitations to submit quotations were recently sent to the successful companies in the first round. Unfortunately, there will be no delivery for Christmas (this year).

Merry Christmas!

Vacancies

Two positions for doctoral candidates in our junior research group are currently being advertised. Take the opportunity and apply! Many topics are combined in our group. You can learn a lot, a broad prior knowledge is not necessary. However, a large portion of curiosity is desirable.

uol.de/stellen?stelle=68507

If you have any questions, please feel free to contact us.

Interview with "photonworld"

An interview with us was published on the website "photonworld". The occasion is the approval of the Emmy Noether junior research group in Oldenburg. The website is generally concerned with the topic of light and the transfer of knowledge, especially to schoolchildren. It accompanies the PhotonLab at the Max Planck Institute of Quantum Optics in Garching and is closely linked to Prof. Dr. Ferenc Krausz's group there.

Press release of the university

The University Press Office has prepared a press release on the launch of this junior research group and published it today. Many thanks in particular to Sonja Niemann for writing the release and Markus Hibbeler for the photos. Thanks also for the effort it took to find your way around both in Wechloy and in the field of Physics. Hopefully there will be another opportunity for collaboration soon.

www.presse.uni-oldenburg.de/mit/2021/198.html

Lab Tour / Photos

After an appointment with the press office on Monday to take photos for a press release, today it was time to visit labs 5 and 6 (UNO/ULTRA, UNO) with our own camera. Some pictures have now ended up in the "Research" submenu for illustration purposes.

It takes shape

A month has passed far too quickly, I was in Lund for just under two weeks before the lecture period began. Since then, a few things have been set in motion. The specifications for the large-scale equipment are now at the DFG and will hopefully soon be published in the form of a call for tenders. In addition, there is now this website and, indispensable in everyday university life, this junior research group now has a financial and cost centre for the Emmy Noether Project. This would allow us to spend money, which would mean the official start of the project. But at best, this should not happen with a package of disposable gloves, size M, in the laboratory supply store. There should be a better opportunity...

Funding commitment

Today, we received written confirmation of acceptance into the DFG's Emmy Noether Programme, thus laying the foundation for this working group. Many thanks to all the supporters in Oldenburg and Lund, without you this probably wouldn't have worked. Thanks also to the reviewers and the Emmy Noether Panel of the DFG for the positive reviews. Now we have to live up to expectations and use the funding in a targeted way. Let's go!

We are grateful for the support of

(Changed: 01 Sep 2022)

Kontakt

Dr. rer. nat. Jan Vogelsang

Institut für Physik  (» Postanschrift)

W2 2-201 (» Adresse und Lageplan )

+49 441 798-3515  (F&P

Attosekundenmikroskopie

Willkommen auf den Seiten der Nachwuchsgruppe Attosekundenmikroskopie.

Wir sind eine Forschungsgruppe im Bereich der experimentellen Physik am Institut für Physik der Fakultät V an der Carl von Ossietzky Universität Oldenburg. Täglich arbeiten wir daran, in neue Bereiche der raumzeitlichen Auflösung vorzustoßen, die noch niemand zuvor ergründen konnte. Wir entwickeln neue experimentelle Methoden, um Ladungsträger in und um Nanostrukturen und Grenzflächen auf ihren natürlichen Längen- und Zeitskalen untersuchen zu können. Insbesondere interessieren wir uns dafür, wie Ladungsträger mit optischen Feldern in heterogenen Strukturen kontrolliert werden können.

Unsere Arbeit wird von der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG) im Rahmen des Emmy Noether-Programms ab 2022 gefördert und in der Universität insbesondere durch die Arbeitsgruppen UNO und ULTRA unterstützt, u.a. indem wir Teile ihrer Räumlichkeiten und Geräte mitnutzen können.

Neuigkeiten

Laser und PEEM auf dem Weg

Unser neuer Laser (Light Conversion Carbide, 80 W, 250 fs) ist inzwischen bestellt und wird in Litauen hergestellt. Die Lieferung ist für den Jahreswechsel geplant. Vorher werden wir voraussichtlich einen „Demo-Laser” erhalten, der uns einen früheren Start bereits im Oktober ermöglichen wird.

Parallel dazu ist auch die Bestellung und Lieferung des Elektronenmikroskops (PEEM) auf einem guten Wege. Es ist bereits „im Prinzip” fertiggestellt, benötigt aber noch das übliche Testprogramm und seine eigene Elektronikeinheit. Außerdem ist der zweite Detektor (Delay-Line-Detektor) noch zu integrieren. Eine Teillieferung im Oktober ist angedacht, damit wir auch hier mit Beginn des Wintersemesters pünktlich starten können.

Weiterhin sind nun allerlei weitere Komponenten bestellt oder im Bestellprozess, sodass im Herbst viele neue Komponenten auf ihren Einsatz warten. Interesse? Meldet euch gerne!

Willkommen Caro!

Heute beginnt Carolin Bauer ihre Bachelorarbeit bei uns in der Gruppe. Sie ist bereits die Dritte, die in wenigen Monaten den Weg zu uns gefunden hat, worüber wir uns sehr freuen. Herzlich Willkommen!

Caro beschäftigt sich mit der Charakterisierung von ultrakurzen Laserimpulsen mit der „Dispersion Scan”-Methode und wird die Ergebnisse mit anderen Messmethoden vergleichen. Diese Arbeit erfolgt in Zusammenarbeit mit den AGs Ultra und UNO, deren Lasersysteme wir uns hier besonders genau anschauen werden.

Frische Stellen & Projekte

Aktuell gibt es neue Infos zu ausgeschriebenen Projekten auf der Unterseite „Offene Stellen”. Schaut gerne vorbei!

Beginn zweier Bachelorarbeiten

Nach kleineren Corona-bedingten Verzögerungen haben heute Kerstin und Ansgar ihre Bachelorarbeiten in der Nachwuchsgruppe Attosekundenmikroskopie begonnen. Herzlich Willkommen!

Kerstin beschäftigt sich mit dem Aufbau eines Elektronenmikroskops mit hoher raumzeitlicher Auflösung, um optische Felder um Nanostrukturen direkt sichtbar zu machen. Ansgar arbeitet an der Erhöhung der Ausgangsleistung eines Lasersystems und dessen Charakterisierung, um neue Experimente im Bereich der Licht-Materie-Wechselwirkung zu ermöglichen.

Wolf-Preis an Anne L'Huillier!

Wir gratulieren herzlich Anne L'Huillier an der Universität Lund zur Verleihung des diesjährigen Wolf-Preises in Physik zusammen mit Paul Corkum und Ferenc Krausz. Sie und ihre Kollegen erhalten den Preis für ihre bahnbrechenden Arbeiten auf dem Gebiet der Ultrakurzzeit- und Attosekundenphysik.

Hier die Mitteilung auf den Internetseiten der Universität Lund.

Elektronenmikroskop und Laser

Die Ausschreibungen für das Photoemissions-Elektronenmikroskop sowie den Pumplaser sind auf einem guten Weg, es wurden kürzlich die Aufforderungen für eine Angebotsabgabe an die erfolgreichen Firmen der ersten Runde verschickt. Mit einer Lieferung zu Weihnachten (in diesem Jahr) wird es damit aber leider nichts mehr.

Frohe Weihnachten!

Offene Stellen

Zwei Stellen für Doktorandinnen oder Doktoranden in unserer Nachwuchsgruppe sind aktuell ausgeschrieben. Nutzt die Gelegenheit und bewerbt euch! In unserer Gruppe werden viele Themenfelder kombiniert. Man kann eine Menge lernen, ein breites Vorwissen ist nicht erforderlich. Eine große Portion Neugierde ist aber erwünscht.

https://uol.de/stellen?stelle=68507

Wenn es noch offene Fragen gibt, sprecht uns jederzeit einfach an.

Interview mit "photonworld"

Auf der Internetseite "photonworld" wurde ein Interview mit uns veröffentlicht. Anlass ist die Bewilligung der Emmy Noether Nachwuchsgruppe in Oldenburg. Die Internetseite beschäftigt sich allgemein mit dem Thema Licht und der Wissensvermittlung insbesondere an Schülerinnen und Schüler. Sie begleitet das PhotonLab am Max-Planck-Institut für Quantenoptik in Garching und ist eng mit der dortigen Gruppe von Prof. Dr. Ferenc Krausz verknüpft.

Pressemitteilung der Universität

Die Pressestelle der Universität hat eine Pressemitteilung zum Start dieser Nachwuchsgruppe angefertigt und heute veröffentlicht. Vielen Dank insbesondere an Sonja Niemann für das Verfassen der Mitteilung und Markus Hibbeler für die Fotos. Danke auch für den Einsatz, den es erforderte, sich sowohl in Wechloy als auch in der Physik zurechtzufinden. Hoffentlich gibt es bald erneut Gelegenheit für eine Zusammenarbeit.

https://www.presse.uni-oldenburg.de/mit/2021/198.html

Labortour / Fotos

Nachdem es am Montag einen Termin mit der Pressestelle gab, um Fotos für eine Pressemitteilung zu machen, galt es heute, die Labore 5 und 6 (UNO/ULTRA, UNO) mit der eigenen Kamera zu besuchen. Einige Bilder sind nun zur Illustration in dem Untermenü "Forschung" gelandet.

Es nimmt Formen an

Ein Monat ist viel zu schnell vergangen, ich war noch knapp zwei Wochen in Lund, kurz bevor die Vorlesungszeit begann. Seitdem wurden einige Dinge in die Wege geleitet. So sind die Leistungsbeschreibungen für die Großgeräte nun bei der DFG und werden hoffentlich bald in Form einer Ausschreibung veröffentlicht. Außerdem gibt es nun diese Website und, im universitären Alltag unverzichtbar, diese Nachwuchsgruppe hat nun eine Finanz- und Kostenstelle für das Emmy Noether Projekt. Damit könnten wir Geld ausgeben, was den offiziellen Start des Projekts bedeuten würde. Das soll aber bestenfalls nicht mit einem Paket Einmalhandschuhe, Größe M, im Laborbedarfslager passieren. Da sollte sich doch eine bessere Gelegenheit finden lassen...

Förderzusage

Heute gab es die schriftliche Zusage für die Aufnahme in das Emmy Noether Programm der DFG, womit der Grundstein für diese Arbeitsgruppe gelegt wurde. Vielen Dank an alle Unterstützerinnen und Unterstützer in Oldenburg und Lund, ohne euch hätte das vermutlich nicht geklappt. Danke auch an die Gutachterinnen und Gutachter sowie das Emmy Noether Panel der DFG für die positiven Gutachten. Nun gilt es, den Erwartungen gerecht zu werden und die Fördermittel zielgerichtet einzusetzen. Auf geht's!

Wir sind dankbar für die Unterstützung durch

(Stand: 14.06.2022)