Contact

Head

Prof. Dr. Wolfram Wingerath

Office

Claudia Martsfeld

Mailing Address

Arbeitsgruppe Data Science
Universität Oldenburg
Fakultät II – Department für Informatik
Escherweg 2, 26121 Oldenburg, Germany

Data Science

Data Science

In the "Data Science" working group, we deal with scalable technologies for storing and processing data to make large amounts of data manageable and enable extracting knowledge from them. Our focus is on approaches for continuous analysis and visualization, especially of data from the Web context.

Core areas of our research include:

  • Continuous Web Analytics & Real-User Monitoring: Technical measurement of page load time on the Web; quantification of user satisfaction; relationship between technical Web performance and business-critical metrics in e-commerce; synthetic vs. natural traffic distinction (bot detection); anomaly detection; data cleansing; duplicate detection; data visualization (continuous dashboarding); schema design and evolution
  • Web Caching & Dynamic Data: Cache coherence in globally distributed caching infrastructures; provision of consistency guarantees using expiration-based caches; accelerated delivery of dynamic content on the Web; efficient detection and invalidation of stale cache entries
  • NoSQL & Cloud Data Management: Decision support for choosing suitable systems based on concrete application requirements or requirement profiles; active mechanisms (such as triggers, change notifications); modeling of 1:n and n:m relationships in systems without support for joins; consolidation of specialized data management systems behind a uniform interface; query languages and their expressive power in comparison with SQL; multitenant cloud services and their provision (especially Backend- and DataBase-as-a-Service)
  • Real-Time Databases & Database Benchmarking: Development of the real-time database system InvaliDB with the ability to continuously update query results (cf. Firebase, Meteor, RethinkDB); interfaces for processing result changes (expressiveness vs. ease-of-use); measurement of non-functional properties such as scalability and fault tolerance; quantification of data staleness; validation of benchmarks

 

(Changed: 2022-04-20)

Kontakt

Leitung

Prof. Dr. Wolfram Wingerath

Sekretariat

Claudia Martsfeld

Anschrift

Arbeitsgruppe Data Science
Universität Oldenburg
Fakultät II – Department für Informatik
Escherweg 2, 26121 Oldenburg, Germany

Data Science

Data Science

In der Arbeitsgruppe „Data Science“ beschäftigen wir uns mit skalierbaren Technologien zur Speicherung und Verarbeitung von Daten, durch die große Datenmengen handhabbar werden und mittels derer Wissen aus ihnen extrahiert werden kann. Unser Fokus liegt dabei auf Ansätzen zur kontinuierlichen Analyse und Visualisierung, insbesondere von Daten aus dem Web-Kontext.

Kernbereiche unserer Forschung sind:

  • Continuous Web Analytics & Real-User Monitoring: technische Messung von Seitenladezeit im Web; Quantifizierung der Nutzerzufriedenheit; Zusammenhang zwischen technischer Web Performance und geschäftskritischen Metriken im E-Commerce; Erkennung von synthetischem Traffic (Bot Detection); Anomalieerkennung; Datenbereinigung; Duplikatenerkennung; Datenvisualisierung (Continuous Dashboarding); Schemadesign und -evolution
  • Web Caching & Dynamic Data: Cache-Kohärenz in global verteilten Caching-Infrastrukturen; Bereitstellung von Konsistenzgarantien unter Verwendung von expirationsbasierten Caches; beschleunigte Auslieferung von dynamischen Inhalten im Web; effiziente Erkennung und Invalidierung von veralteten Cache-Einträgen
  • NoSQL & Cloud Data Management: Entscheidungshilfen zur Wahl geeigneter Systeme auf Basis von konkreten Anwendungen bzw. Anforderungsprofilen; aktive Mechanismen (etwa Trigger, Change Notifications); Modellierung von 1:n- und n:m-Beziehungen in Systemen ohne Support für Joins; Konsolidierung von spezialisierten Datenmanagementsystemen hinter einer einheitlichen Schnittstelle; Anfragesprachen und ihre Ausdrucksmächtigkeit im Vergleich mit SQL; mandantenfähige Cloud-Services und deren Bereitstellung (insbesondere Backend- und Database-as-a-Service)
  • Real-Time Databases & Database Benchmarking: Entwicklung des Echtzeitdatenbanksystems InvaliDB mit der Fähigkeit zur kontinuierlichen Aktualisierung von Anfrageergebnissen (vgl. Firebase, Meteor, RethinkDB); Interfaces zur Verarbeitung von Ergebnisänderungen (Mächtigkeit vs. Ease-of-Use); Messung von nicht-funktionalen Eigenschaften wie Skalierbarkeit und Fehlertoleranz; Quantifizierung von Data Staleness; Validierung von Benchmarks

 

(Stand: 20.04.2022)