Navigation

Skiplinks

EINBLICKE 49 / Spring 2009

Dear Reader,

until just a few years ago, even members of groups and initiatives actually concerned with sustainable development were divided on whether or not to abandon the word ‘sustainability’ because of its abstractness. In the meantime the situation has changed fundamentally: The sad certainty that processes of global climate change have already begun and the realization of what will happen if we continue down the same path as before, ‘peak oil’ – meaning the end of cheap oil supplies –, and now the global financial collapse and subsequent economic crisis have turned the term sustainability into an everyday word. It is this rude awakening to the fact of our accustomed short-term thinking in matters of production, consumption, and global financial markets that now lends weight to the regulative idea of sustainable development.

Especially the field of economics and business administration, which despite warning voices has been caught totally unawares by the financial and economic crises, is now called upon to make its contribution to resolving the problems: This is because the threatening natural-scientific scenarios must be translated into new development pathways of production and consumption.

Economic research on the environment and on sustainability have a long tradition at the Carl von Ossietzky University in Oldenburg. The fields of Economics – ever since the University was founded – and Business Administration – since the mid-nineties – have created several chairs dedicated in large part ini tially to teaching and research on environmental economics, and increasingly more so to issues of sustainable development. The Chair for Vocational Studies and Economic Education has an important focus in this thematic area, and so does the field of Law, which is integrated in our department. The department has also carried out a number of research projects with funding from the German Federal Ministry for Education and Research which, with reference to specific empirical and applied fields like energy and the food industry, help to explore new ways of production and consumption.

Under the umbrella of COAST, the University’s center for environmental and sustainability research, some three years ago CENTOS (Center for Sustainability Economics and Management) was established as research center for the fields of Economics, Business and Law. Measured in terms of research and teaching intensity as well as the number of staff, CENTOS occupies a leading position in the German-speaking world and has become an institution of global repute. Accordant with macro economic and societal objectives, issues surrounding innovation and change are the foci of research activities. Applied research and interdisciplinarity are the leading methodological aspects. To name two projects as examples:

  • The WENKE² project (ways to sustainable patterns of consumption with regard to private households’ energy needs and alimentation) applies different branches of economic theory – such as happiness research, evolutionary economics, economic interaction, learning-to-consume, institutionalist approaches, as well as economic aspects of cultural studies – to the conditions and possibilities surrounding the change to green electricity and solar-thermal applications, or organic, regional and fairly traded food products;
  • The GEKKO project (buildings, climate protection and communication in Oldenburg) in collaboration with KoBE e.V., the Oldenburg center of competence for building construction and energy, provides free information and consultation services to interested parties in the Oldenburg and the surrounding region.

The present issue of the research magazine “Einblicke” provides an overview of the productive variety of environmental and sustainability research and teaching at the Carl von Ossietzky University in Oldenburg, focusing on modern concepts and methods of environmental policy, issues of environmental education, relevant aspects of consumption and life-style, culture-based perspectives of sustainable consumption, as well as crossdisciplinary approaches in innovation and entrepreneurship research. Current research topics include climate protection and energy supplies, alimentation, information and communication technologies, the textile industry, and mobility.

A central objective of CENTOS is to combine research and education to levels of excellence. The crossdisciplinary Master’s Program “Sustainability Economics and Management” attracts new recruits for environmental and sustainability research in the field of economics. Outstanding students occupy positions as research assistants and gain hands-on experience in running projects. This Master’s Program is a good illustration of the interdisciplinarity practiced at Oldenburg University, being able to draw on the teaching competence present in other fields such as the natural sciences, for instance. It is currently in the midst of creating a new specialism: “Eco-Entrepreneurship”.

Naturally, CENTOS keenly pursues national and international cooperation with leading research institutes and personalities in the fields of environmental and sustainability research. For instance, the brand new project “NordWest 2050” has enlisted an internationally renowned cooperation partner in the person of Prof. Dr. Klaus Töpfer, who previously held the post of German Minister for the Environment, and was also Executive Director of the United Nations Environment Program. The project will run for an initial period of five years and is being carried out in cooperation with the University of Bremen under the umbrella of the Metropolitan Region Bremen-Oldenburg. Research topic is the development of climate adaptation strategies for the North West of Germany.

After reading this magazine we feel confident you will have obtained a good impression of just how useful a university can be for society at large! On behalf of all CENTOS members, we hope you enjoy reading it.

Klaus Fichter, Reinhard Pfriem


Presse & Kommunika7uktion6mx8 (presse@uol.de) (Stand: 07.02.2019)

Navigation

Skiplinks

Kontakt

Presse & Kommunikation

+49 (0) 441 798-5446

Weitere Ausgaben des Forschungsmagazins:

EINBLICKE 49 / Frühjahr 2009

Liebe Leserinnen,
liebe Leser,

noch vor wenigen Jahren gab es selbst in Gruppen und Initiativen, die sich mit nachhaltiger Entwicklung beschäftigten, Diskussionen darüber, ob der Begriff Nachhaltigkeit nicht wegen mangelnder Verständlichkeit aufgegeben werden müsse. Inzwischen hat sich die Situation grundlegend verändert: Die traurige Gewissheit über bereits begonnene globale Klimaveränderungen – und darüber, was passieren könnte, wenn so weitergemacht wird wie bisher –, Peak Oil, also das Ende billigen Erdöls, und jetzt die globale Finanz- und inzwischen auch Wirtschaftskrise haben den Begriff der Nachhaltigkeit zur Selbstverständlichkeit werden lassen. Gerade das kurzfristige Denken in Produktion, Konsum und auf den globalen Finanzmärkten verlangt danach, die regulative Idee einer nachhaltigen Entwicklung von Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft zur Geltung zu bringen. Insbesondere die Wirtschaftswissenschaften, die trotz weniger mahnender Stimmen von der Finanz- und Wirtschaftskrise völlig überrollt wurden, sind aufgerufen, ihren Beitrag zur Lösung der Probleme zu leisten, weil die bedrohlichen naturwissenschaftlichen Szenarien in neue Entwicklungspfade des Produzierens und Konsumierens übersetzt werden müssen.

An der Carl von Ossietzky Universität Oldenburg hat die wirtschaftswissenschaftliche Umwelt- und Nachhaltigkeitsforschung eine lange Tradition. So gibt es in der Volkswirtschaftslehre schon von Anfang an und in der Betriebswirtschaftslehre seit Mitte der neunziger Jahre eine Reihe von Lehrstühlen, die sich zu einem wichtigen Teil ihrer Forschung und Lehre zunächst mit Umweltökonomik, dann aber zunehmend auch mit Problemen nachhaltiger Entwicklung beschäftigten. Am Lehrstuhl für Berufs- und Wirtschaftspädagogik haben diese Fragen auch großes Gewicht, ebenso in den Rechtswissenschaften als Mitglied unseres Departments. Finanziert u.a. vom Bundesforschungsministerium wurden und werden zahlreiche Forschungsprojekte durchgeführt, die bezogen auch auf spezifische Empirie- und Praxisfelder wie Energie- und Ernährungswirtschaft helfen, neue Wege des Produzierens und Konsumierens zu erschließen.

Unter dem Dach von COAST, dem gesamtuniversitären Zentrum für Umwelt- und Nachhaltigkeitsforschung, existiert seit gut drei Jahren CENTOS als wissenschaftliches Zentrum für die Wirtschafts- und Rechtswissenschaften. Nach Mitarbeiterzahl sowie Forschungs- und Lehrintensität nimmt CENTOS im deutschsprachigen Raum eine Spitzenposition mit internationaler Ausstrahlung ein. Entsprechend der wirtschafts- und gesellschaftspolitischen Gesamtsituation stehen Fragen von Innovation, Veränderung und Wandel im Zentrum der Forschungsaktivitäten. Problemorientierung und Interdisziplinarität sind leitende methodische Gesichtspunkte. Beispielhaft seien zwei Projekte genannt:

• Im Projekt WENKE² (Wege zum nachhaltigen Konsum im häuslichen Energiekonsum und bei der Ernährung) werden unterschiedliche wirtschaftswissenschaftliche Theoriezugänge wie die Happiness-Forschung, die Evolutorische Ökonomik, der Learning-to-Consume-Ansatz, institutionalistische und interaktionsökonomische Zugänge sowie eine kulturalistische Ökonomik auf die Bedingungen und Möglichkeiten des Wechsel auf grünen Strom und Solarthermie bzw. auf biologische, regionale und fair gehandelte Lebensmittel angewandt;

• Im Projekt GEKKO (Gebäude, Klimaschutz und Kommunikation in Oldenburg) werden in Kooperation mit KoBE e.V., dem Oldenburger Kompetenzzentrum für Bauen und Energie, Informations-, Beratungs- und Beteiligungsleistungen erbracht, die für alle Interessierten aus Oldenburg und Umgebung kostenlos sind.

Diese Ausgabe des Forschungsmagazins „Einblicke“ will einen Eindruck von der produktiven Vielfalt der wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Nachhaltigkeitsforschung an der Carl von Ossietzky Universität Oldenburg vermitteln. Hier werden moderne Konzepte und Methoden der Umweltpolitik, Fragen der Umweltbildung, konsum- und lebensstilrelevante Aspekte sowie kulturalistische Perspektiven nachhaltigen Konsums ebenso berücksichtigt wie transdisziplinäre Ansätze in der Innovations- und Entrepreneurship-Forschung. Zu den konkreten Untersuchungsfeldern zählen gegenwärtig Klimaschutz und Energieversorgung, Ernährung, Informations- und Kommunikationstechnologien, Textilwirtschaft sowie Mobilität.

CENTOS arbeitet engagiert an der Aufgabe, Forschung und Lehre auf hohem Niveau miteinander zu verbinden. Durch den eigenständigen Master-Studiengang „Sustainability Economics and Management“ werden neue Kräfte für die wirtschaftswissenschaftliche Umwelt- und Nachhaltigkeitsforschung rekrutiert. Engagierte Studentinnen und Studenten sind über Mitarbeiterstellen aktiv in die laufenden Forschungsprojekte einbezogen. Und gerade bei diesem Master-Studiengang kommt die Interdisziplinarität zum Tragen: der Studiengang kann sich direkt Lehrkompetenz aus den Naturwissenschaften und anderen Bereichen außerhalb der eigenen Fakultät zunutze machen. Aktuell wird in diesem Rahmen mit „Eco-Entrepreneurship“ ein neuer Studienschwerpunkt etabliert.

Natürlich arbeitet CENTOS national und international mit wichtigen Forschungseinrichtungen und Persönlichkeiten im Felde der Umwelt- und Nachhaltigkeitsforschung zusammen. Für das gerade anlaufende Projekt „NordWest 2050“, bei dem es in Kooperation mit der Universität Bremen und unter dem Dach der Metropolregion Bremen-Oldenburg über einen Zeitraum von fünf Jahren um die Entwicklung von Klimaanpassungsstrategien für den nordwestdeutschen Raum geht, konnte der ehemalige Bundesumweltminister Prof. Dr. Klaus Töpfer als Forschungspartner von CENTOS gewonnen werden.

Lesen Sie dieses Heft, und wir sind sicher, Sie werden einen guten Eindruck davon gewinnen, welch nützliche Einrichtungen Universitäten für die Gesellschaft doch sein können! Viel Spaß wünschen stellvertretend für alle CENTOS-Mitglieder 

Klaus Fichter, Reinhard Pfriem

Presi6se & Kgtomojv5munikation (presekse4qnn@uol.dezoh6) (Stand: 07.11.2019)