CONTACT

University of Oldenburg

Department of Computing Science
Media Informatics and Multimedia Systems

Escherweg 2
26121 Oldenburg

Mail: Susanne.Boll(at)informatik.uni-oldenburg.de
Phone: +49 (0) 441 - 97 22 213
Fax:+49 (0) 441 - 97 22 202 
Room: OFFIS O 47
Web: medien.informatik.uni-oldenburg.de

Susanne Boll

Researcher passionate for designing interaction technology for humans

Prof. Dr. Susanne Boll is Professor of Media Informatics and Multimedia Systems in the Department of Computing Science at the University of Oldenburg, in Germany. She serves on the board of the OFFIS–Institute for Information Technology, in Oldenburg. Prof. Dr. Boll earned a doctorate with distinction from the Technical University of Vienna, Austria. She received her Diploma in Computer Science with distinction in from the Technical University of Darmstadt, Germany in 1996.

Her research field lies at the intersection of human computer interaction and interactive multimedia in which she has an excellent scientific track record. Her research passion is developing interactive technology for people, joining novel innovative technology development with user needs and social acceptance in the center of her research. She is developing novel interaction technology that is shaped toward as respectful and beneficial cooperation of human and technology in a future more and more automated world. Her scientific research projects have a strong connection to industry partners and application partners and addresses highly relevant challenges in the applications field of automation in transportation systems, in interactive health care technologies, and industry 4.0.

Her scientific results have been published in competitive peer-reviewed international conferences, such as Multimedia and CHI as well as internationally recognized journals. She has published more than 250 articles in competitive conferences, workshops, journals and books. She is a highly active member of the scientific community and served as a member on the technical program committees of many renowned conferences and workshops. More recently she professionally was responsible as program chair and general chair of several major international conferences. 

She was very successful in acquiring and coordinating large research projects. Currently she one of the speakers of the Germany Research Center for Innovation in Care , she is co-speaker of the Graduate School on Social and Cultural Embeddedness of Automated Cyber-physical systems . She is also the first researcher who coordinates a prestigious DFG Priority Program in the field of Human Computer Interaction. Under the theme Scalable Interaction Paradigms in Pervasive Computing Environments 20 HCI researchers pursue 11 scientific research projects with 23 PhD students, aiming to understand the nature of interaction with large and complex pervasive computing environments and to explore suitable interaction paradigms. .  

Among other awards, Prof. Dr. Boll and colleagues most recently received the Best Paper Award for TEI 2018 ()  an Honorable Mention Awared at CHI 2020: 

Susanne Boll is ACM Distinguished Member (2019), Fellow of the German Informatics Society (2020), Elected Member of the German National Academy of Science and Engineering (acatec), Elected member (Fachkollegiatin) of the German Science Foundation (DFG) board of reviewers in Computer Science since 2016. and spokesperson of this board since 2020.

She is a member of the Editorial Board of the IEEE Multimedia Magazine (member since 2006 and an Associate Editor in Chief of IEEE Multimedia since 2014). She is a member of the editorial board of Springer Multimedia Tools and Applications since 2009. She is a member of the Steering Committees of the MobileHCI Conference since 2016 and a member of the steering committee of the AutomotiveUI Conference since 2011, SC Co-Chair sind 2019.

Over her entire academic career, she has been encompassing the importance of equal opportunities and diversity in several ways, on a personal and on a professional level.  She is an active member in Women Chapters in several professional societies. In 2019 she has been elected as the first SIGMM Director of Diversity and Outreach within the SIGMM Executive Committee. 

 

(Changed: 2020-11-20)

Susanne Boll

KONTAKT

Universität Oldenburg

Department für Informatik

Medieninformatik und Multimedia-Systeme

Escherweg 2
26121 Oldenburg

eMail: Susanne.Boll(at)uni-oldenburg.de
Telefon: +49 (0) 441 - 97 22 213
Fax:+49 (0) 441 - 97 22 202 
Raum: OFFIS O 48
Web: https://uol.de/en/media-informatics

Susanne Boll

Forscherin mit Leidenschaft für die Entwicklung von Interaktionstechnologien für Menschen

Kurzbiographie

Prof. Dr. Susanne Boll ist Professorin für Medieninformatik und Multimediasysteme im Fachbereich Informatik an der Universität Oldenburg, Deutschland. Sie ist Mitglied im Vorstand des OFFIS-Instituts für Informationstechnik in Oldenburg. Prof. Dr. Boll hat an der Technischen Universität Wien, Österreich, mit Auszeichnung promoviert. Ihr Diplom in Informatik erhielt sie 1996 mit Auszeichnung an der Technischen Universität Darmstadt, Deutschland.

Ihr Forschungsgebiet liegt an der Schnittstelle zwischen Mensch-Computer-Interaktion und Medieninformatik.  Ihre Forschungsleidenschaft ist die Entwicklung interaktiver Technologien für den Menschen, wobei die Entwicklung neuartiger innovativer Technologien ausgerichtet auf die Bedürfnissen der Benutzer und die sozialen Akzeptanz im Mittelpunkt ihrer Forschung steht. Sie entwickelt neuartige Interaktionstechnologien, die auf eine respektvolle und nutzbringende Zusammenarbeit von Mensch und Technik in einer zukünftigen, immer stärker automatisierten Welt ausgerichtet sind. Ihre wissenschaftlichen Forschungsprojekte haben eine starke Verbindung zu Industriepartnern und Anwendungspartnern und befassen sich mit hochrelevanten Herausforderungen im Anwendungsfeld der Automatisierung in Transportsystemen, in interaktiven Technologien für das Gesundheitswesen und in der Industrie 4.0.

Ihre wissenschaftlichen Ergebnisse wurden auf renommierten internationalen Konferenzen wie Multimedia und CHI sowie in international renommierten Fachzeitschriften veröffentlicht.  Sie ist ein sehr aktives Mitglied in internationalen Fachgesellschaften und  war Mitglied in den Programmkomitees vieler renommierter Tagungen. In jüngerer Zeit war sie beruflich verantwortlich als Program Chair und General Chair  mehrerer großer internationaler Konferenzen. 

Lehre

In den letzten 20 Jahren hat sie ein modernes kompetitives Curriculum für Multimedia und Mensch-Computer-Interaktion aufgebaut. Sie bietet eine Vielzahl an Vorlesungen und Praktika im Bereich der Medieninformatik und der Mensch-Computer-Interaktion sowohl auf BSc- und MSc-Niveau. Alle Module bauen international anerkannten Grundlagen und Methoden auf, führen in neue Forschungsmethoden im Feld ein und veranschaulichen den theoretischen Hintergrund im Kontext von Systemen und Anwendung. Das Material wird regelmäßig aktualisiert, um die neuesten Fortschritte auf diesem Gebiet abzudecken und anzusprechen. Meine gesamte Lehre ist in hohem Maße interaktiv. Praktische Aufgaben bieten den Studierenden die Möglichkeit, die Methoden im Zusammenhang mit der Entwicklung interaktiver Systeme tief zu verstehen. Alle Vorlesungen und Laborkurse werden von Doktorand*innen und Post-Docs unterstützt, so dass die BSc- und MSc-Studenten eine sehr unterstützende Lehrumgebung mit hervorragender Laborausstattung vorfinden. .

Forschungsprojekte

In den vergangen 20 Jahren hat sie ene Vielzahl großer Forschungsprojekte eigneworben. Aktuell ist sie eine der Sprecherinnen des Pflegeinnovationszentrums , sie ist Kosprecherin der Graduiertenschule Social Embeddedness of Autonomous Cyber Physical Systems" (SEAS). Sie ist die erste deutsche HCI Forscherin, die ein angesehenes DFG-Schwerpunktprogramm im Bereich der Mensch-Computer-Interaktion koordiniert: unter dem Thema Scalable Interaction Paradigms in Pervasive Computing Environments in Pervasive Computing Environments verfolgen 23 Doktorand*innen die  Interaktion mit großen und komplexen Pervasive-Computing-Umgebungen zu verstehen und geeignete Interaktionsparadigmen zu entwickeln.  

Awards

Neben anderen Auszeichnungen erhielt Sie mit ihrem Team zuletzt den Best Paper Award für TEI 2018 einen Honorable Mention Award auf der CHI 2020: 

Scientific Community 

Susanne Boll ist ACM Distinguished Member (2019), Fellow der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Informatik (2020) und in der Gesellschaft für Informatk im Fachbereich Mensch-Technik Interaktion, Gewähltes Mitglied der Deutschen Akademie der Technikwissenschaften (acatec), Gewähltes Mitglied (Fachkollegiatin) des Fachkollegiums Informatik der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG) seit 2016 und Sprecherin dieses Gremiums seit 2020. 

Sie ist Mitglied des Editorial Board des IEEE Multimedia Magazine seit 2006 und seit 2014 Associate Editor in Chief des IEEE Multimedia Magazine. Seit 2009 ist sie Mitglied des Editorial Board von Springer Multimedia Tools and Applications. Seit 2016 ist sie Mitglied des Lenkungsausschusses der MobileHCI-Konferenz und seit 2011 Mitglied des Lenkungsausschusses der ACM AutomotiveUI-Konferenz, und Co-Chair dieses Lenkungsausschusses seit 2019.

Chancengleichheit

Während ihrer gesamten akademischen Laufbahn hat sie die Bedeutung von Chancengleichheit und Vielfalt in mehrfacher Hinsicht, sowohl auf persönlicher als auch auf beruflicher Ebene, thematisiert.  Sie ist ein aktives Mitglied in Komitees für Gleichstellung in verschiedenen Gremien und Fachgesellschaften. Im Jahr 2019 wurde sie zur ersten SIGMM Director of Diversity and Outreach within the SIGMM Executive Committee gewählt. 

 

(Stand: 09.06.2021)