Institut für Musik  (» Postanschrift)

A09 1-106 (» Adresse und Lageplan )

MI 12-13 Uhr

vorl.freie Zeit: 31.08.22 von 12-13 Uhr im Büro und 14.09.22 von 12 - 13 Uhr in meinem Büro sowie jederzeit nach Voranmeldung via BBB oder persönlich!

+49 441 798-2062  (F&P

Carl von Ossietzky - Composition Award in future

2014 – Piano

             2/4 - handed or
             2 pianos
             (Werner Barho)

2015 – Voice &

             from Duo to Sextet
             (Gertraude Spier)           

2016 – ClassicJazzMix

(Prof. Bernhard Mergner & Rida Murtada)

Carl von Ossietzky – Composition Award: 13th International Contest

In 2013 the annual competition is announced for compositions for Wind Ensemble. Considering the fact of a rapidly growing number of wind instrument-classes (Bläserklassen)1 in German schools the Institute of Music of the Carl von Ossietzky University of Oldenburg intends to contribute to the broadening of the repertoire for wind instrument-classes. This repertoire is intended to consist of compositions of easy to fairly high level of difficulty. The compositions should constitute a challenge for beginners and advanced pupils as well as student teachers without demanding unsolvable technical difficulties. The degree of difficulty is not regarded as a criterion of quality!

Instruments at choice:

1 piccolo, 2 flutes, up to 3 clarinets in Bb, 2 alto saxophones in Eb, 2 tenor-saxophones in Bb, 1 baritone-saxophones in Eb, up to 3 trumpets in Bb, 2 horns in F (French Horn), 1 tenor-horn in Bb, up to 3 trombones (one of these is a tenorbass-trombone), 1 tuba, 1 double-bass or elect.-bass, 1 drum-set

Reducible instrumentations are welcome!

Duration: max. 10 minutes

The compositions should not have already been published of performed. There is no limitation of age of the participants. The content of the piece can be chosen freely.

Submissions: until the 30th October 2013 to

Carl von Ossietzky Universität Oldenburg
Fk III, Institut für Musik
z.Hd. Prof. Violeta Dinescu
D-26111 Oldenburg

Please, submit two copies of the composition anonymously, as well as an anonymous commentary of your composition. Please, also send a closed envelope containing name and address of the composer, as well as a short CV (biography). Submissions are only accepted by mail (post) – no E-Mail!

The premiere of the awarded compositions will be performed by the wind ensemble of the Carl von Ossietzky University Oldenburg. It will take place in the 2014.

Members of the Jury:

Violeta Dinescu, Composer
Siegrid Ernst, Composer
Christoph Keller, Composer
Michael Searby, Composer
Peter Vollhardt, artistic assistant for ensemble-conducting
Roberto Reale, research assistant

1 Participation in a two-year Wind Instruments-class (including orchestral training and performances) instead of standard Music Education classes

(Stand: 16.03.2023)  |