Navigation

Coordination

Dr. Steffen Hamborg

+49 441/798-2066


Dr. Jędrzej Sulmowski

+49 441/798-4690

Running time

April 2019 to March 2022

Transformation by Community

Subjectification processes in the context of sustainable development

In the sustainability discourse, community-based initiatives have been increasingly present for several years, e.g. in the form of eco-villages, transition towns, green cities or solidarity-based agriculture. It is often precisely communities like these that are addressed as actors. They are intended to test transformation processes on a small scale and develop solutions to the challenges of the future declared as such, thus paving the way for a sustainable future - for society as a whole. At the same time, initiatives related to the topic of "sustainability" often design themselves explicitly as communities. Research has so far failed to take sufficient account of the complexity of both the concept and the phenomenon of "community" in the context of sustainability: at times communities have been unquestioningly ascribed the ability to act and the potential to initiate change. Others considered "communities" simply as a negative counter-model to a society of responsible subjects.

For some years now, however, we have been striving for a differentiated perspective, to which our project also feels committed. With the project "Transformation through Community" we want to offer a theoretically guided as well as empirically founded discussion about the emergence and impact of sustainability communities. Using three current initiatives as examples, we would like to reconstruct what makes communities attractive for politics, science and practice. On the other hand, we want to sound out whether the communities have transformative potential and what this potential consists of. In cooperation with the three practical initiatives, we want to provide perspectives and knowledge for politics and society, as well as for the communities themselves: How do communities develop as collective subjects of sustainable development with the help of artefacts and technologies? What are the intended and unintended effects of these communities, both internally and externally? How are these effects to be assessed with regard to the sustainability-oriented transformation of society?

more

The selected empirical cases - Escheroder "gASTWERKe", Dorfgemeinschaft Oberndorf and Solidarische Landwirtschaft Oldendorf e.V. (all located in Northern Germany) - are to be analysed using five different approaches, namely discourse analysis, praxeology, history, feminist economics and psychology. In the course of the project, these academic perspectives will regularly enter into dialogue not only with each other, but also with the communities studied, in order to inform and challenge each other - across disciplinary boundaries, points of view and types of knowledge.


The joint project promises to shed light on the conditions under which communities form themselves into collective subjects, the extent to which they develop transformative power and the social and political consequences associated with this. In this way, it will enable a reflective approach to the processes of collective subjectivation in sustainability-related scientific, social and political practice.

Webmaswe2wterl0s (mapl5rtakngu.mdguelldveer@2tuol.decbi) (Changed: 2020-09-01)

Navigation

Koordination

Dr. Steffen Hamborg

+49 441/798-2066


Dr. Jędrzej Sulmowski

+49 441/798-4690

Laufzeit

April 2019 bis März 2022

TransGem

Transformation durch Gemeinschaft

Prozesse kollektiver Subjektivierung im Kontext nachhaltiger Entwicklung

Im Nachhaltigkeitsdiskurs sind gemeinschaftsbasierte Initiativen seit einigen Jahren mehr und mehr präsent, z.B. in Gestalt von Öko-Dörfern, transition towns, green cities oder solidarischer Landwirtschaft. Dabei werden oft gerade Gemeinschaften wie diese als Akteure adressiert. Sie sollen Transformationsprozesse in kleinem Rahmen erproben und Lösungen für die als solche deklarierten Herausforderungen der Zukunft entwickeln und so den Weg in eine nachhaltige Zukunft ebnen – auch für die gesamte Gesellschaft. Initiativen mit Bezug zum Thema „Nachhaltigkeit“ entwerfen sich zugleich auch häufig selbst explizit als Gemeinschaften. Die Forschung berücksichtigt die Komplexität sowohl des Begriffs als auch des Phänomens „Gemeinschaft“ im Kontext von Nachhaltigkeit bislang nur unzureichend: Zuweilen wurde den Gemeinschaften unhinterfragt Handlungsfähigkeit zugeschrieben und das Potential, Veränderungen einzuleiten. Anderen galten „Gemeinschaften“ schlicht als negatives Gegenmodell zu einer Gesellschaft mündiger Subjekte.

mehr

Seit einigen Jahren aber bemüht man sich um eine differenzierte Perspektive, der sich auch unser Projekt verpflichtet fühlt. Mit dem Projekt „Transformation durch Gemeinschaft“ wollen wir eine theoretisch geleitete wie empirisch fundierte Auseinandersetzung um Entstehung und Wirkung von Nachhaltigkeitsgemeinschaften bieten. Wir möchten am Beispiel dreier aktueller Initiativen zum einen rekonstruieren, worin die Attraktivität von Gemeinschaften für Politik, Wissenschaft und Praxis besteht. Zum anderen wollen wir ausloten, ob den Gemeinschaften transformatives Potenzial innewohnt und worin es besteht. In Zusammenarbeit mit den drei Initiativen aus der Praxis möchten wir Perspektiven und Wissen für Politik und Gesellschaft, als auch für die Gemeinschaften selbst bereitstellen und widmen uns dabei schwerpunktmäßig folgenden Fragestellungen: Wie bilden sich Gemeinschaften unter Mitwirkung von Artefakten und Technologien als Kollektivsubjekte nachhaltiger Entwicklung aus? Welche intendierten und nicht-intendierten Wirkungen haben diese Vergemeinschaftungen nach innen und außen? Wie sind diese Effekte im Hinblick auf die nachhaltigkeitsorientierte Transformation der Gesellschaft zu bewerten?

Die ausgewählten empirischen Fälle – Escheroder „gASTWERKe“, Dorfgemeinschaft Oberndorf und Solidarische Landwirtschaft Oldendorf e.V. (alle gelegen in Norddeutschland) – sollen mit fünf unterschiedlichen Zugängen, nämlich der Diskursanalyse, der Praxeologie, der Geschichtswissenschaft, der feministischen Ökonomie und der Psychologie analysiert werden. Im Laufe des Projekts werden diese akademischen Blickwinkel regelmäßig ins Gespräch nicht nur miteinander treten, sondern auch in den Austausch mit den untersuchten Gemeinschaften, um sich so gegenseitig zu informieren und herauszufordern – über fachliche Grenzen, Standpunkte und Arten von Wissen hinweg.

Das Verbundprojekt verspricht Aufschluss darüber zu geben, unter welchen Bedingungen Gemeinschaften sich zu Kollektivsubjekten ausformen, inwiefern sie dabei transformative Kraft entwickeln und welche gesellschaftlichen und politischen Konsequenzen damit verbunden sind. Es ermöglicht so einen reflektierten Umgang mit den Prozessen kollektiver Subjektivierung in nachhaltigkeitsbezogener wissenschaftlicher, gesellschaftlicher und politischer Praxis.

Webmaster (mareqktafo.muellerxdtc@uvxg1ol/3.d697lueopd9b) (Stand: 21.08.2020)