Navigation

Contact

DIRECTOR

Prof. Dr. Werner Damm

werner.damm(at)offis.de

HEAD OF PROJECT OFFICE

Lars Rölker-Denker

lars.roelker-denker(at)uni-oldenburg.de

Mohamad Abdelaal

Path Following of Vessels with Collison Avoidance

I have graduated from the faculty of engineering, Cairo University, electrical power and machines department in May 2010 where I work have worked there as research and teaching assistant while doing my master of science. My bachelor thesis was about control and monitoring of wind turbine systems and my master thesis focused on nonlinear control systems with application on the inverted pendulum as a benchmark.

The main research interests for me are Model Predictive Control, Adaptive Control, Intelligent Control like Fuzzy and Neural Networks, Nonlinear Control, and Ship Dynamics, Control and Safety. Based on my background, I was fond of applying control techniques on moving objects like robots, cars and vessels and I found that CSE position at the University Oldenburg, department of computer science, under the supervision of Prof. Axel Hahn and Prof. Martin Fräenzle suitable for me.

The CSE research problem is representation of path following and collision avoidance of vessels as a Multi agent dynamic game with an objective to optimize a coupled payoff function subject to the dynamics of our vessel and the nearby vessels. In order for that collision avoidance system to be efficient, the algorithm must predict other ships states to avoid any future possible collision in a finite predetermined horizon. So, the dynamic game will be modified to include the predicted states in the coupled cost function and solve the optimization problem at every sample in a moving horizon manner. This is called in the literature distributed model predictive control (DMPC). To guarantee Collison avoidance, the time delay in predicting other nearby vessels must be taken into consideration and not neglected.

Peter Gewald

After my Abitur 2009 (secondary school leaving examination) I studied computer science at the Carl von Ossietzky University Oldenburg. My bachelor thesis in 2012 deals with the security of the GSM air interface, while my master thesis in 2014 mainly addresses remote attacks on SIM cards.

The main research topics during my study in general dealt with computer networks, especially mobile security regarding communication standards like GSM. Because of this background I started as research assistant within the CSE college at the University Oldenburg, department of computer science with Prof. Dr.-Ing. Axel Hahn as my associated professor and PD Dr. Sibylle Fröschle as my supervisor.

I chose the CSE context to combine my background knowledge of mobile security with subjects of vehicular communication. Within the scope of my PhD thesis the trade-off between safety and privacy regarding vehicular communication will be the main topic. On the one hand safety requires misbehavior detection. On the other hand users shall be protected from one authority, which can easily do tracking and create user profiles. The evaluation of safety impact as well as the consequences for privacy of users of the vehicular infrastructure is one research task out of multiple subtopics of my thesis within CSE.

Birte Löffler

After spending a couple of years studying Fine Arts abroad I started a bachelor in Biomimetics at the University of Applied Sciences in Bremen. In my bachelor thesis I investigated the nitric oxide metabolism of bio-films in respect to their possible usage as role models for efficient energy harvesting. In 2013 I accomplished a master in Engineering Design at the University of Applied Sciences in Magdeburg-Stendal. For my master thesis I optimized the shell of a capsule colonoscope following biomimetic principles.

My research interests are broad and include human centered design, research through design, human-machine interaction, psychology, neurophysiology and biomimetics.

After spending one year in the Human-Machine Systems Engineering Group of the University of Kassel, I started my PhD in February 2015 as part of the CSE college at the University of Oldenburg. Under the supervision of Prof. Andreas Hein I am busy developing objective assessment and enhancement strategies for elderly drivers with the help of neuro-technology. In my PhD-thesis I am able to combine my experience and research interests in psychology, design and medical technology and help to drive forward system development in the CSE sub-project “the car that cares”. 

Webmastsxerbn (inikv4terntqaffet@uol.hjodeh2y4) (Changed: 2020-01-23)

Navigation

Scholars

Kontakt

DIREKTOR

Prof. Dr. Werner Damm

werner.damm(at)offis.de

Leitung Projektgeschäftsstelle

Lars Rölker-Denker

lars.roelker-denker(at)uni-oldenburg.de

Mohamad Abdelaal

Path Following of Vessels with Collison Avoidance

Ich habe meinen Abschluß im Mai 2010 an der Universität Kairo, am Lehrstuhl für Elektrizität und Maschinenbau der Fakultät für Ingenieurswissenschaften gemacht. Dort habe ich während meines Master of Science Studiums als wissenschaftliche Hilfskraft in Lehre und Forschung gearbeitet. Meine Bachelorarbeit beschäftigte sich mit der Kontrolle und Überwachung von Windenergieanlagen und meine Masterarbeit konzentrierte sich auf non-lineare Kontrollsysteme mit Anwendung auf das umgekehrte Pendel als Vergleichspunkt.


Mein Hauptinteresse in der Forschung liegt auf Model Predictive Control, Adaptive Control, Intelligent Control (Fuzzy/Neural Networks), Nonlinear Control sowie Ship Dynamics, Control and Safety. Vor diesem Hintergrund macht es mir Freude, diese Kontrolltechniken auf sich bewegende Objekte, wie Roboter, Autos und Schiffe anzuwenden. Die CSE College-Stelle an der Universität Oldenburg, Department für Informatik, unter der Betreuung von Prof. Axel Hahn und Prof. Martin Fränzle ist für mich sehr passend.


Die CSE Forschungsfrage ist die Darstellung von Spurfolgen und Kollisionsvermeidung von Schiffen als ein dynamisches Spiel mehrerer Handelnden mit dem Ziel, eine Erfolgsfunktion zu optimieren, die an die Dynamik des eigenen Schiffes und der umliegenden Schiffe gekoppelt ist. Damit dieses Kollisionsvermeidungssystem effizient arbeiten kann, muss der Algorithmus die Lage anderer Schiffe vorausberechnen können, damit alle zukünftigen möglichen Kollisionen in einem vorgegebenen Horizont vermieden werden können. Auf diese Weise wird das dynamische Spiel so verändert, dass die vorausberechneten Lagen in der gekoppelte Kostenfunktion enthalten sind und das Optimierungsproblem bei jeder Probe mit einem sich bewegenden Horizont löst. Dies wird in der Literatur „distributed model predictive control“ (DMPC) genannt. Um die Kollisionsvermeidung zu gewährleisten muss die Zeitverzögerung beim Bestimmen anderer sich in der Nähe befindenden Schiffe mit einbezogen und nicht vernachlässigt werden.

Peter Gewald

Nach meinem Abitur 2009 habe ich an der Carl von Ossietzky Universität Oldenburg Informatik studiert. Meine Bachelorarbeit im Jahr 2012 beschäftigt sich mit der Sicherheitsanalyse der GSM Luftschnittstelle, während meine Masterarbeit 2014 hauptsächlich Remote Angriffe auf SIM-Karten thematisiert.

Während meines Studiums habe ich mich mit Rechnernetzen, speziell mit der Sicherheit von mobilen Netzen, wie beispielsweise GSM, beschäftigt. Dieser Hintergrund hat mich bewogen als Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter bzw. Doktorand im Rahmen des CSE College unter der Leitung von Prof. Dr.-Ing. Axel Hahn und mit PD Dr. Sibylle Fröschle als Betreuerin zu arbeiten.

Der Kontext von CSE eignet sich besonders zur Kombination des Wissens über Mobilfunksicherheit mit der Kommunikationssicherheit von Fahrzeugen. Im Rahmen meiner Doktorarbeit soll der Trade-off zwischen Safety und Privacy bezüglich der Kommunikation von Fahrzeugen als Rahmenthema beleuchtet werden. Einerseits fordert Safety die Erkennung von Missbrauch innerhalb des Kommunikationsystems, andererseits sind Nutzerdaten vor einzelnen Instanzen zu schützen, welche ansonsten mit einfachen Mitteln Nutzer tracken und Bewegungsprofile erstellen können. Die Evaluation der Auswirkungen auf Safety sowie die Konsequenzen für Privacy der Fahrzeugnutzer ist eine von mehreren Themen der Dissertation im Rahmen von CSE.

Birte Löffler

Nachdem ich einige Jahre freie Kunst im Ausland studiert habe, begann ich mit einem Bachelorstudium in Bionik an der Hochschule Bremen. In meiner Abschlussarbeit betrachtete ich den Stickstoffmonooxid-Stoffwechsel von Biofilmen und dessen Potential als bionisches Vorbild für die Energiegewinnung. 2013 schloss ich einen Master in Engineering Design an der Hochschule Magdeburg-Stendal ab. In meiner Master-Arbeit optimierte ich die Formgebung eines Kapselkoloskops nach bionischen Prinzipien.

Meine Forschungsinteressen sind breit und umfassen menschzentriertes Design, Forschung durch Design, Mensch-Technik-Interaktion, Psychologie, Neurophysiologie und Bionik.

Nachdem ich ein Jahr am Fachgebiet Mensch-Maschine-Systemtechnik der Universität Kassel gearbeitet habe, nahm ich im Februar 2015 meinen PhD als Teil des CSE Colleges an der Carl von Ossietzky Universität Oldenburg auf.  Mit Prof. Andreas Hein als Betreuer beschäftige ich mich mit der Entwicklung  objektiver Beurteilungs- und Verbesserungsstrategien für ältere Fahrende mit der Hilfe von Neurotechnik. In meiner Doktorarbeit habe ich die Möglichkeit meine Erfahrung und Forschungsinteressen im Bereich Psychologie, Design und Medizintechnik zusammenzubringen und helfe die Entwicklung von Systemen im CSE Teilprojekt “the car that cares” voranzutreiben.

Internetkoordinator (Stand: 21.08.2020)