Contact

Prof. Dr. Volker Hohmann
Coordinator of CRC 1330

Management & Office

Demonstrator D2

The acoustically transparent hearing device

Demonstrator D2 aims at providing a high-quality hearing device to enable hearing comparable to the open ear (so-called acoustic transparency) while providing a desired sound enhancement and hearing support (e.g., reduction of ambient noise). In close collaboration between subprojects, a one-size-fits-all earpiece featuring multiple receivers and MEMS microphones was developed, which is commercially available as the Hearpiece (see www.hz-ol.de/en/hearpiece.html for details).

Signal processing algorithms for sound pressure equalization aiming at acoustic transparency, acoustic feedback cancellation and active noise cancellation have been implemented on this demonstrator. These algorithms exploit the availability of multiple receivers and multiple microphones and integrate individual electro-acoustic models and measurements performed during the calibration routine.

In the following videos we demonstrate the individual sound pressure equalization aiming at acoustic transparency and active noise cancellation algorithms by means of audio examples explained in the videos.

Videos

Please wear headphones while watching and listening to the videos.

(Changed: 09 Jun 2022)

Demonstrator D2

Kontakt

Prof. Dr. Volker Hohmann
Leitung SFB 1330

Management & Geschäftsstelle

Demonstrator D2

Das akustisch transparente Hörgerät

 

Ziel von Demonstrator D2 ist es, ein hochwertiges Im-Ohr-Hörsystem für akustisch transparente Sprachkommunikation unter Beibehaltung des natürlichen Höreindrucks mit offenem Ohr während der Nutzung des Hörsystems. In enger Zusammenarbeit zwischen Teilprojekten wurde ein Ohrpassstück mit mehreren Lautsprechern und MEMS-Mikrofonen entwickelt, das als „Hearpiece“ kommerziell erhältlich ist (siehe https://www.hz-ol.de/de/open-tools-for-science-hearpiece.html für weitere Infos).

In den Demonstrator wurden Signalverarbeitungsalgorithmen zur Schalldruckentzerrung mit dem Ziel der akustischen Transparenz, zur akustischen Rückkopplungsunterdrückung und zur aktiven Störgeräuschunterdrückung implementiert. Diese Algorithmen nutzen die Verfügbarkeit von mehreren Lautsprechern und Mikrofonen aus und integrieren individuelle elektroakustische Modelle und Messungen, die während einer kurzen Kalibrierung durchgeführt werden.

In den folgenden Videos demonstrieren wir die Ansätze zur Schalldruckentzerrung mit dem Ziel der akustischen Transparenz und zur aktiven Geräuschunterdrückung anhand der im Video erklärten Audiobeispiele.

Videos (in englischer Sprache)

Bitte tragen Sie beim Ansehen und Anhören der Videos einen Kopfhörer.

(Stand: 09.06.2022)